Soup soup soup soup

So it looks like my eating habits are in fact revolving around either liquified meals, soft foods and soup.

I don’t think it would be so bad if it weren’t for the fact my tummy’s starting to act up again with the whole wheat/bread/pasta thing. It’s kind of depressing actually.

Oh well.

The last couple of days I’ve been trying to limit myself to one meal which includes one of the above evil-doers so I don’t feel totally miserable about it all in the end when I feel wretched afterwards.

Anyhow, I’ve been pulling out the old cabbage soup from the deep freeze seeing as the snow and cold have finally come (unfortunately, today it’s started to do the old Chinook-melty-action) and instead of just eating it as it is, I’ve had strange inspiration to doctor each little tub I pull out for dinner.

Last week when I made it, I wanted meat with it so I cubed up a couple of chicken breasts and seasoned them with Montreal Chicken Spice. Before that even happened, I melted about 1Tbsp of bacon fat(!!) in the pot — if I had actually had a few slices of bacon in the house, I would have just fried those up instead — dumped in the soup, pureed it with the stick blender and let it simmer for a bit. Because the soup itself is relatively bland (only 1pkg of onion soup mix for seasoning) I added maybe 1 tsp of chicken stock powder and a good 2 cups of water to reconstitute it all. Once it got all bubbly again, I chucked in the chicken and let it simmer for another hour or so til the Hubbs got home from work. It was way tasty.

Tonight I did something similar with the chicken powder, just the chicken spice, extra water + bacon fat, let it simmer with a chunk of parmesan for awhile, and then dumped in about 1 cup of wee scallops. Let it simmer for 15-20 minutes and all was ready for the tummy.

The Hubbs said the scallops gave it a different flavour (oh really, you don’t say…? ^_^), more like a seafood chowder. Whereas when I made it with the chicken, it reminded me of the Mulligatawny soup Daddy used to make and we’d eat with baby pitas. I <3 his mulligatawny soup. Hubbs’ suggestion as he wandered upstairs to conquer Level 67 of WoW was that we should try it with ham next time…

==============================================================
Cabbage Soup

10 medium baby carrots
2-3 sticks of celery
1 medium onion
28 oz canned tomatoes
1/2 medium head green cabbage
1 envelope onion soup, dry mix
2 cube beef broth cube(s)
4 cup water
1 medium green pepper

Chop all veggies.
Place all ingredients in bottom of crock pot, stir to mix, set to high and leave for hours on end.

Leave a Reply

