OMG Hilarious and Disturbing all at the same time…

I think I want one of these for my zucchini crop this year… probably the corncob or pickle pair forms, though I wouldn’t be adverse to the humble heart form.

So funny!! Could you imagine what my brother’s wife would do with a zucchini with a face on it?!?!

HAHAHA!!

On another note, I think chemo is making me crave strange things. And by strange, I do mean foods I have in the past not particularly cared for.

For example: celery and bell peppers. I dislike celery for the most part unless it was chopped small in salmon or tuna sandwich fillings. I am only slightly more fond of bell peppers, and that’s only if they’re on pizza. The last 2 months of chemo has made me crave both of those vegetables which I am less than warm to. Suddenly I’m buying bags of multicoloured peppers and huge stalks of celery to make cashew chicken with. *sigh*

Anyhow, I had this cabbage sitting in my fridge from Tuesday that Mom gave me when I picked up dinner. Ordinarily we would’ve been there for Family Dindin, but last week was just far too taxing for me to consider the idea of driving there and home again, alone. The Hubbs had a work release that night and wouldn’t be able to attend anyways, and the hassle that accompanies trying to get a ride home from one of my brothers or even my parents is also just too much to handle when you’re exhausted (even though I know my family has absolutely zero qualms of driving me home, trying to leave when ~I~ want to would be well nigh impossible.)

So back to my cabbage… I have to say I love cabbage. I don’t know why, but I do. I realize that this statement coming after a confession of veggie dislikes is odd, but it kind of falls under the ‘strange chemo cravings’ category. For the most part, the only thing I do with cabbage is my bi-annual cabbage soup. Really, nothing to write home about.

It’s currently snowing, looking peaceful outside and of course a wee bit chilly. I had this vague recollection of being able to do something tasty with a head of cabbage that involved my oven, but couldn’t for the life of me recall what that was.

Enter Google, stage left.

Persistence pays off, as they say. I found the recipe that I remember reading and wanting to try but had no cabbage on hand at the time… back in January of 2006: a Braised Cabbage recipe on the blog of Orangette. As we speak, I am in fact inhaling the intoxicating aroma of olive oil, salt, pepper, onions and one lone cabbage.

I have already thusfar *swooned* to the Boys Online about said veggie in the oven. They, of course, are not of the same mind in the vegetable department as I. Pity.

I am anxiously awaiting my succulent green wedge… one more hour to go.

3 thoughts on “OMG Hilarious and Disturbing all at the same time…

  1. I’m with you on cabbage. The only time I really ever had it when I was a kid was around St. Patrick’s day, when mom made corned beef and cabbage (which is strange when I can only claim a small percentage of Irish blood). A restaurant near my work makes an AWESOME sweet and sour cabbage soup every Thursday. I may just have to get some this week. ;)

    1. TeaseMeGirl

      Sweet & Sour Cabbage Soup. I might have to go in search of that kind of recipe.
      The difficulties I have is that The Hubbs does not eat nearly as much green-matter as I do and rarely does he consume soup… so I would be stuck with a vatful all to myself o_O;

Leave a Reply

