I think I did it…

I think I made tablet.

Sorta …

I’m waiting for it to cool but of the stranded pieces that cooled too quickly and didn’t make it into the pan, they have (what I imagine is) the proper texture.

…Really, there’s only one way to find out…

The recipe I used was found here, with the change I made to use milk instead of water, as per most other recipes found online.

More detailed visual instructions (via another recipe) were found here.

It took longer than 10 minutes for my caramel to come to a proper caramel-y colour, so I just left it on the stove to bubble away and checked on it periodically, giving it a good stir.

Once the caramel reached a rather attractive colour, I pulled it off the heat and set the timer for 5 minutes. I was waffling as to whether or not to stir immediately as recipe #2 recommended or to leave it for the allotted five minutes and then stir like the dickens in recipe #1.

I did a little bit of both: I kind of let it cool for a minute or two, then stirred it vigorously, left it for a bit, stirred it crazy hard and watched it foam up something fierce, then left it alone for a little more (it created a sort of “milk crust” when I left it alone, oups!), stirred it hard again for a little longer to encorporate that “crust” and then attempted at pouring it onto the parchment lined baking sheet to the best of my abiltities before the whole thing became one solid mass of sugar stuck in my pot.

I tried to spread it out with my wooden spoon, but that was a lost cause, so I just left the whole thing in all its ugly lumpy glory on the sheet for a little bit to cool, then cut it into pieces while I still could.

The bits and pieces that were left all over or “got lost” on the pan, I taste tested when it was cool enough. It’s a little bit gritty, but not. A little bit fudgy, but not. It crumbles if you bite into it, but doesn’t break necessarily, and it kind of melts in your mouth.

Does that make sense?

Yes, it is addictive.

[Edit: OH! I think I know what it reminds me of! It has the texture of a shortbread cookie! 451 pm]


In other photographic news, I found a bunch of pics that I’ve taken since we got back from Montreal that I didn’t upload onto Bubbles until now.


The Kitties
My first saskatoon pie.


First strawberry jam of the season.


The wire that pissed me off.

4 thoughts on “I think I did it…

Leave a Reply

