Yum, tasty…

Tonight was pork chop night.

Not intentionally, considering I am feeling so un-motivated about everything, but it happened. I was pulling stuff out for dindin yesterday afternoon to throw into the crockpot (chicken, btw) and I was rumaging through the freezer and couldn’t decide between chicken or pork. Turns out I chose chicken and figured that today we’d have pork chops.

The chicken last night was flavour-wise alright. Texturally it was a huge disappointment. Mental note for future grocery shopping excursions: Don’t buy boneless, skinless chicken thighs. They’re just as dry and tasteless as white breast chicken meat. Blech.

Anyhow, tonight’s porkchops were done in my usual fashion — seasoned with a little olive oil on both sides, and liberally sprinkled with salt, pepper & thyme. Throw them into a nice hot dry frying pan to sear and let them do their own thing for 5-8 minutes per side.

Now, having done this a good number of times and feeling quite comfortable with the whole process, it tastes pretty darn good as is served with rice and veggies and a glob of dijon mustard on the side. But tonight, I was just not feelin’ the luv after the usual pan-frying and decided that tonight was the night I try my hand at making a tasty sauce to go with.

What I did was use up what remained in the jar of Dijon mustard, added orange juice to about 1/3 of the way up the jar, added a few glugs of maple syrup, seasoned with a little salt and pepper and then shook the whole thing up “with vim & vigour “. (Sick of the Sackboy references, yet?) I took out the porkchops to rest and poured the whole lot into the hot pan and deglazed whatever was on the bottom & left everything to reduce some. One it was reduced down to a nicely sem-syrupy consistency, I poured it over each of the chops and away we went.

I did good.

I am mightily impressed that the sauce turned out. It wasn’t too sweet and it wasn’t too bitter with the mustard and I’m proud to say that I still have the mad skilz to cook a porkchop to the perfect doneness without overcooking it into dry shoe leather. Woot!

Leave a Reply

