3am… Hungry…

I have this peculiar habit when I order garbage food from McD’s. I don’t recall if I’ve talked about this in past entries, but since I’ve got nothing better to think about at 3am, what the hell.

I mentioned once awhile back that McD’s no longer has my beloved BigXtra on its menu. Nor do they carry the once loved Arch Deluxe or the McDLT. Truth be told, the McDLT was my first love and I’ve been heart-broken ever since it disappeared long, long ago. McD’s current burger + lettuce, tomatoes & special sauce is the Angus Burger. It’s a rather distasteful creation, but hey, you gotta do what you gotta do to stay trendy in the fast food world, don’t ya?

This leaves me in a rather sad state of affairs. We don’t eat a lot of fast food around here and there are only 2 times in which McD’s is called for: 1) a hardcore craving 2) If I’m feeling unwell — seriously. There was a time in my life where I was eating McD’s on a far too regular basis when I was young, stupid and working at Wal-mart while I was going to school. That period of time was certainly not great on my digestive system and I stopped eating most fast food for a good few years afterwards except on the rarest of occasions. Nowadays, I don’t know what it is, but when I feel more horrible than usual nothing sits in my stomach better than a coke, fries & a burger from McD’s. I’m rather ashamed to admit it, but it’s true.

Now that I no longer have the option of ordering a BigXtra, I’m left to order my alternate choice as my regular: fish burger meal + a cheeseburger.

This meal combo dates back to when we were kids and we used to take Saturday morning swimming lessons. Mom used to take the three of us to lessons and sometimes as a treat, we’d hit up McD’s drive-thru on the way home to refuel. I don’t recall how the combination came about, but somehow we found that the best burger to fill the ravenous bellies after swimming was a fish burger & cheeseburger meal. Apparently I never grew out of that combo and it was usually my fall-back when I didn’t feel like having a whole big huge burger. Though truth be told, I haven’t ordered a “real” BigXtra in a few years now, it’s just been too large. A Jr.BigXtra has been my hamburger of choice — basically a cheese burger with all the BigXtra toppings. I can’t even finish the order of fries that comes with the meal either. The same goes for Whoppers from BK, Jr.Whopper for me plzkthxbai!

Anyhow, The Hubbs was feeling unwell yesterday and stayed home from work. He thinks we both may have caught some slight bug over the weekend which is why I’ve been feeling crappier than usual this week and thus explains my need for McD’s yesterday afternoon. Now, going back to my ‘peculiar habit’, in case you’re wondering, if I can’t eat more than a Jr.BigXtra + maybe half an order of fries, why in the world am I ordering 2 burgers for a meal? Well… it seems that I like to have my options open. I order two burgers, eat one (whichever is most palate pleasing at the time) and then I leave the other to snack on later in the day or possibly even the next. Strange, I know.

So.

I just had a fish burger at 3am and it was remarkably satisfying.

2 thoughts on “3am… Hungry…

  1. Haha, great story, thanks for sharing. While I hate most fast food, I have a soft spot as well for the Micky D’s fish burger too. I think it stems from my parents thinking that since it is fish, it is relatively healthy. Ohh if they knew the truth… And I also like crispy chicken type burgers.

    1. TeaseMeGirl

      Hmmm… I don’t recall if my Mom had any preference over burgers and which she might have deemed to be more healthy. Maybe you’re onto something there! ;D

Leave a Reply

