Yumm…

Winter appears like it’s here to stay. I swear, the never ending dumps of snow is becoming rather heart-breaking for me because it means that for the last 2-3 weeks (almost every 2-3 nights) I have been doing some serious drugging up. I am not a happy llama.

Having said that, with this past weekend’s veggie shopping expedition, I now have carrots and celery in my fridge. I imagine that’s a strange observation to most people, but I don’t much like either of those veggies and it’s very rare that I go out of my way to buy celery in particular. There’s usually a can of salmon, some mayo & garlic salt involved, if I’m buying celery.

With my newfound excitement to do something worthwhile in the kitchen lately, I’ve decided that today is the perfect day to make a wonderfully hearty pot of Mario Batali’s Ragu Bolognese. I will also post Winespectator.com’s video recipe of Mario making the ragu.

The recipe in the Molto Mario cookbook is slightly different than the one on Food Network’s page — no butter, 2 onions, 2 carrots, 4 ribs of celery, 5 cloves of garlic, and 1 full can of tomato paste. My only changes, due to ingredients on hand, is using slightly under 1lb of beef instead of veal, a little over 1 lb of ground pork, 4 oz of regular bacon, red wine instead of white.

If I follow the video recipe, time-wise, I’ll be in this for the long haul. I’ve only finally gotten the meat to finally render out its fat and I’ve added the can of tomato paste. I’m sitting here waiting for those two to combine before I add the milk and wine.

Bouncing around between Bubbles and the stove, I have to say that the recipe is a lot less tomato saucey than I would expect. The one can of tomato past is good, but I want this to be a little more liquidy than just MEAT, so I’ve just dumped in the last of my wee cocktail tomatoes, chopped, that are super ripe. Two plus hours of simmering will hopefully get this sauce to its full potential. It certainly smells amazing and if I’m lucky, perhaps I will have finally found a recipe that comes close to what is served at t La Luna Rossa when I order the evening special of panfried calve’s liver that includes a some garlicky broccoli and just the right amount of spaghetti on the side. Their bruschetta makes me weep it’s so perfect… more so in the warmer months than winter, but it’s still pretty fantastic no matter what time of year, for me.

For those of you on the Planet#, the video can be found here.

Leave a Reply

