Yucky. Ucky. Blech.

I feel like awful.

I feel like I’ve done some serious injury to my intestines and I’m just wiped out.

I woke up this morning somewhere around 500am because the sun was shining ridiculously brightly into the bedroom and it just made the ongoing morning headaches and nausea I’ve got going on a million times worse. Eventually I gave up on trying to sleep in bed and just dragged myself to sleep on the family room sofa.

Needless to say, it has been a non-productive day.

Surprisingly enough, even though I’ve felt shitty, I did manage to impressively make myself a late late breakfast/lunch, whatever you might call my first real meal of the day — I don’t think 2 glasses of orange juice over the last 9 hours and a bunch of four cheese flavoured rice crackers at 630am counts as a meal.

With this whole thing of me trying to avoid bready/wheat products, I’ve been trying to figure out what to eat. I’m still keeping up with the consumption of fruits and veggies, which I’m pleased with, but I’m rather amazed that I’ve not ~really~ been craving bread, pasta, etc. Given how much I love those two food groups and how disheartening I found my first time eliminating wheat products from my diet a few years back, this has been an enjoyable walk in the park by comparison. I will admit that I am not 100% vigilent about tracking my consumption of wheat other than the obvious suspects. In some cases, I just don’t care. Ie: salad dressings.

Anyhow, I made migas! Well.. sort of migas. More like bastardized migas, I would say. I don’t know why it popped into my head, but while I was resting earlier, I realized that I needed real sustenance at some point and for some reason I kept obsessing about the corn tortillas I had still sitting in the fridge. Somehow the thought process advanced itself far enough for me to remember in the back of my head that Pioneer Woman had posted a recipe that involved eggs, corn tortillas and a bunch of other tasty ingredients: Migas, here we come.

The original recipe is simple enough, though very large, and of course I made changes accordingly to factor in ingredients and laziness on hand. Since I rarely have bell peppers around nor have I ever brought jalapenos home, I used jarred salsa to take place of the veggie components to the recipe. Milk was substituted for half and half and swiss cheese was substituted for Monterey Jack. Of interest to note: not only did I have corn tortillas on hand, but I also had some itty bitty mini chicken tacos that Mom & Dad had brought over yesterday afternoon to snack on from Costco. It was junk food day for them.

Migas my Way

2 corn tortillas, chopped into small pieces
Veg oil, to fry tortillas
2 Eggs
Milk
Salsa
Swiss Cheese, grated
Mini chicken tacos (totally optional, but really darn tasty)

Cook chicken tacos according to package directions.

Meanwhile, in a bowl, whisk together eggs and milk. Salt and pepper eggs, then set aside.

In a small skillet over medium heat, heat oil and fry corn tortilla pieces just until starting to crisp. Remove to oven to finish crisping with chicken tacos.

In same small skillet over medium heat, pour in about 1/2-2/3 cup of salsa to warm through. Reduce heat to medium-low.

Remove chicken tacos and corn tortillas from oven. Chop chicken tacos and set aside corn tortillas.

When the heat has decreased, add chopped tacos and stir together with salsa. Pour egg mixture into skillet and combine well. Stir gently to cook, you don’t want to brown the eggs at all.

Add swiss cheese and stir mixture to combine. You’ll know then the eggs are done; they’ll be set but not overly dry. It takes probably a good 3-5 minutes for everything to come together nicely and the cheese to be all melty.

Turn migas out into two bowls and top each with the chopped crispy corn tortillas.

Leave a Reply

