I look like a heathen.

Sooooo… yeah.

After dindin tonight, The Hubbs and I went off and did something we rarely do: We went out and about.

No particular destination in mind other than EB Games for The Hubbs to pick up a game that was released today (no idea what he picked up, sorry) and then perhaps to the top of the city for a bit of a walk.

Whatever game it was that The Hubbs wanted, he managed to pick up and we also picked up EA Sports Active for the Wii. I hadn’t intended on buying it, but I kept seeing the commercials on tv. I don’t even know why we bought it. Well, that’s not entirely true. The Hubbs is still trying to get me to up my physical activities level and if it involves something for the Wii that might be fun, encouraging and motivating, then so be it. He won’t even bat an eye.

So on top of having battled the Dandilions today, I’ve done one full workout with the Active. I hadn’t read any reviews on the product, nor had I even visited the website before right this very minute. Had I actually skimmed the box before purchasing, I probably would have given it back to the guy at the store to put it back on the shelves.

Why? I suppose it’s a rather silly reason, in the scheme of things: It’s endorsed by Bob Greene. Bob, who? Oprah’s former(?) personal trainer.

Regardless, it’s too late now. The box is open and everything’s already been unpacked.

Verdict? It’s more physically intense than Wii Fit by far, but little things about the game turn me off.

It’s cool that the game includes a resistance band and the thigh strap is rather ingenious, I just had a tough time getting the band to stay put the first few minutes of my workout. Turns out that sitting down and putting on the thigh strap is the wrong way to go — when you stand up, the strap falls right off your leg. My bad.

I will admit, I am far more attracted to cute than I am realism. Active is based on pseudo-realism, as opposed to (Wii) Fit‘s pure cuteness for motivation and encouragement. Having to design yet another avatar of myself within North American parameters is somewhat depressing and far less cute than using a caracatured Mii.

As for your personal trainer’s constant quips? I find it to be hugely un-motivating. The narrator/trainer’s voice during example sessions of how to do an exercise, I have no issues with. It’s when I’m doing the workout with the trainer that I get annoyed. It’s rather parrot-like. “You can do it!”, “Great job!”, “You’re doing great!”, “You can do better than that.”, etc, etc, etc… Fit’s voice is annoying too, but you know that it’s not meant to replicate a real person’s voice because it’s just an animated character on the screen trying to motivate you in a cute & fun way.

So how was the Active workout? Well… by the time my 20 minute workout was complete, I was drenched. I didn’t appreciate the program telling me that I wasn’t working hard enough for the workout I had chosen (easy), but that’s an inconsequential beef based on my own personal limitations. Fit would make me warm and a little bit sweaty, but not full on drenched to the point of needing a shower like I did tonight. As for the heathen-look? That’s what happens when I choose not to properly fix my hair before it air dries into its own craziness.

I guess this means I’ll have a few things to keep track of:

* Day 12 Battle of the Weeds
* Day 01 Active

On a completely different note, we went to Planet Organic after hitting up EB Games. I spent monays there.

As The Hubbs said, “Jeez you’re an expensive date tonight!”

I picked up a whole bunch of stuff, just wandering up and down the aisles, picking up stuff that sounded good: New Moon Kitchen Gluten-free cookies (chocolate macaroons), Real Brew Outrageous Ginger Ale (known as Natural Brew in the US), Liberté Méditerranée Dulce de Leche yoghurt (!!), a pack of organic strawberries, a bottle of Highwood Crossing’s Cold Pressed Canola Oil (aka Canada’s Olive Oil), and a bag of organic ginger spice hard candies (in hopes of settling my nausea while we were out and about).

I have two words for the yoghurt: OH. MY. GOD.

Okay, that’s three. Whatever.

Remember my whole thing about Liberté’s cottage cheese? I just had the exact same tastegasmic experience with their yoghurt. It’s smooth, it’s rich, it’s creamy, it’s heavy, and it doesn’t have that sour twang that makes your tastebuds juice. I also realize that it’s 8.5% milk fat. Yum.

The flavour of the dulce de leche isn’t cloyingly sweet, it’s just the right smoothness and sweetness to accompany the rich creaminess of the yoghurt. I could have possibly eaten at least half the tub standing at the sink. Damn that stuff’s awesome. I am a yoghurt & cottage cheese convert… at least to Liberté’s products. A couple more thoughts on yoghurt — Liberté also has a tzatziki sauce that I love and buy on the odd occassion. It comes in about 250ml tubs with a lid. It is extremely yummy. When I finish the dulce de leche yoghurt, I’m going to give their goat milk yoghurt with honey a try. That comes in only a small 150ml(?) container as opposed to the regular 500ml tubs.

I guess I know what I’m having for breakky tomorrow — sliced strawberries with baby bananas & dulce de leche yoghurt. Hawt Damn. I am excited!

4 thoughts on “I look like a heathen.

    1. TeaseMeGirl

      Heh, nah.
      I like being able to have my posts show what time I started writing as opposed to when I finished, especially when it’s late night.
      So now you’ll have something interesting to read! ;D

Leave a Reply

