Is it strange…

…That I have a hankering to start playing D&D again?

I suppose it doesn’t help that I picked up Confessions of a Part-time Sorceress on the weekend, I’ve cancelled my WoW account (for those of you who were unawares) and now I’m feeling rather lonely in a slightly RPG-less world.

Admittedly, I could still play one of my first characters on The Hubbs’ WoW account, given his doesn’t expire til October, but I kina miss my gnome mage. She’s cute.

Anyhow, I guess something new (revised?) in the D&D world has come out recently and The Hubbs asked if I would consider making character to play alongside him and a few friends & spouses. Originally I thought not, but now that I’ve quit WoW and am being rather antisocial all around, I think the idea of making a character might fly after all.

Only thing is… I suck at playing.

At least that’s my opinion.

I don’t think I ever really got ~into~ playing. Lots of self-consciousness, see. But then again, I never really knew people I could play with.

As much fun as it is to play with one’s brothers, there tends to be a little bit of rule bending in my favour when I have no clue as to what’s going on. I don’t play well with others when I don’t know what’s going on. (Shh! Don’t tell!)

So yea, either I reinstate my WoW account or I get The Hubbs to help me make an alter ego.

6 thoughts on “Is it strange…

  1. DnD is such of a delicate balance…you seriously need a good group, a great DM, and a well written adventure; I’ve been so spoiled on videogaming RPG’s that I’ve taken so much for granted with board RPG’s, and I’m 99% sure I can’t really go back just because I’ve become so accustomed to everything being automated.
    And you can’t just have one of the 3, or maybe 2 or the three…it’s pretty much ALL of the above otherwise the evening is shite. Even something as simple as a random encounter, if the DM isn’t good enough to remember that every freakin turn he’s gotta roll for a random encounter, or if he’s not smart enough to read up on the adventure as to what the odds are on a random encounter let alone what the party might encounter, and this isn’t forgetting about dealing with a party that doesn’t know WHAT a random encounter is…then you end up losing shitloads of time just trying to keep things moving, be it the DM having to constantly make reference to the script, the players constanly having to remind the DM to roll for a Random Encounter…or the DM being too fucking obvious about the whole thing just because he’s tired of explaining to the noobs what a random encounter is…
    …and THAT’S why I stopped playing Dungeons And Dragons!

    1. TeaseMeGirl

      LOL.
      I completely understand where you’re coming from. I remember one experience where it was just too.. much.
      I’m rather looking forward to the prospect of perhaps playing, only because I’ve sat in on a game or two with this bunch in the past and everyone melds together so well (I of course would be the wild card, so to speak) and the guy DM’ing is rather awesome in his own right.
      We’ll see how things pan out, I’ll keep you posted on what I decide in the end ^_^
      As for ‘puter RPGs and the like… with the exception of WoW, I don’t know that I’ve ever had much success playing to be honest. (Can WoW be considered RPG??)

      1. heh…well, considering you’ve played WoW, then ya, that’s a pretty huge success for computer RPG’s. I wouldn’t say it’s the best done RPG, but considering it’s well maintained, super well organized, and all the boring shit like rolling/percentages and the sort are automated (quite well in fact), I’d say it’s the most approachable computer RPG.

      2. LOL…for the same reason why people don’t talk to Iggy Pop about Heroin these days; there’s no way either of us would come back if we jumped into these vices!

Leave a Reply

