I had a brilliant idea last night

And apparently I am not the only person who has come up with this thought: Balsamic Strawberry Jam.

For some reason I didn’t think that it would be a popular idea, but I was proven wrong.

The recipe I am going to attempt is from Canadian Living, but I am going to omit the package of pectin. For some reason I’ve never had any luck with pectin, plus I like my jam on the softer side, so to speak. I don’t know how set a box of Certo makes things, but I’m happy enough making my jam the hard way.

Strawberry Balsamic Black Pepper Jam

12 cups (3 L) strawberries, hulled
1 pkg (49 g) light fruit pectin crystals
4-1/2 cups (1.125 L) granulated sugar
1/4 cup (50 mL) balsamic vinegar
1 tsp (5 mL) coarsely cracked black pepper

* In large Dutch oven or preserving pot and using potato masher, mash strawberries thoroughly, 1 layer at a time, to make 6 cups (1.5 L).

* Cook strawberries, sugar, and balsamic vinegar in a medium pan on med heat for about 20 minutes stirring occasionally. (I usually eye-ball the thickness of the sauce to determine when it is done.)

* When the jam mixture has reduced to thick consistency or 220 degrees F.

* Remove from heat, skim off foam with metal spoon. Stir in pepper.

* Using funnel and 1/2-cup (125 mL) measure, fill hot 1-cup (250 mL) canning jars, leaving 1/4-inch (5 mm) headspace. Remove any air bubbles, readjust headspace if necessary, wipe rims.

* Cover with prepared lids. Screw on bands until resistance is met; increase to fingertip tight.

*Boil in boiling water canner for 10 minutes.

Tip: A full rolling boil (220 F/104°C) is rapid, usually foaming or spurting, and cannot be stirred down.

Servings: 8 cups (2 L)

2 thoughts on “I had a brilliant idea last night

    1. TeaseMeGirl

      It does!
      …Well, did…
      We’ve had such crappy weather all over the province this year that most strawberry crops have been pretty badly damaged and so what few strawberries you can get are really expensive. $5/basket.
      I will probably use imported strawberries from California and Mexico when the disappointment of ‘real’ berries has settled :P
      In the meantime: I’m making a batch of pickled sweet cherries & a batch of Japanese pickle sticks!

Leave a Reply

