Jelly Drama..

My crab apple jellies didn’t set.

I was very upset.

On the other hand, it’s nothing a good hard reboil and a pouch of liquid pectin can’t fix.

I don’t know why, but I’ve been adament against using pectin up til this point. I guess with my jams, which has solids, I have the patience to sit there stirring and waiting.

Jellies, with their need to strain the fruit solids so you just get juices makes me impatient, which explains yesterday’s excitement of being able to send everything through my crazy high powered juicer. Admittedly, I did have to strain the resulting juice from the large quantity of foam and it did still require pouring everything through a jelly bag so the solids and weird foam would stay behind. But for some reason, I found that to be far more satisfying than the traditional boiling, straining and waiting up to overnight to get what I wanted.

I think I’ve found my method for making crab apple jelly with satisfactory results and still with a relatively crystal clear product.

Basically the gyst of the recipe is this:

Pressed Crab Apple Jelly
~5-6 lbs of crab apples, stems & blossom ends removed (cut in half if desired)
4 cups sugar
3 Tbsp lemon juice
1 pouch liquid pectin

– Send your apples through the juicer.
– Pour all the liquid into a jelly bag and suspend over top a large container to let things drain for a few minutes.
– Because there’s relatively no solids, after a few minutes check on the juice and discard the foam.
– Measure out 4 cups of strained juice into a pot.
– Boil for a couple of minutes and add sugar. Stir until dissolved.
– Return mixture to a boil and continue stirring until 220F is reached.
– Add pouch of pectin and boil hard for 1 minute, stirring constantly.
– Divide hot jelly into hot & sterilized 250ml jars.
– Follow normal canning procedures etc, etc..
– Process as required at your altitude.

Makes about 4 x 250ml jars

[Update: *Squee!* My jellies are acting like lava lamps! Air bubbles are rising to the surface!]

Leave a Reply

