Woo!

I did it!

I made both a Bacon Cake & the Frog Dish perfectly!

At least I’m hoping the bacon cake is perfect when we eat it tomorrow at a friend’s place for Oktoberfest. It’s absolutely the most perfect looking thing I have seen in a long time. Strange, I know.

I’m so ridiculously proud at how they both turned out. I am especially pleased at the fact I finally got the stupid yorkshire pudding technique down for the Toad in the Hole recipe. I managed to make yorkshire puddings perfectly my first time a few years back when I made a roast beef for the first time, but have failed everytime since then. I finally stuck with it today and it came out beautifully. I think I will definitely omit the rosemary when we make the Frog Dish again in the future. I had omitted it the first time because I didn’t have any, but I found it too overpowering tonight.


Kugelhopf au Lard
Toad in the Hole

4 thoughts on “Woo!

  1. You’re just spectacularly adorable, have I told you that before? I wish I lived near you so we could hang out! Move to Ottawa! :)
    p.s.
    I WANT THAT CAKE! :)
    p.p.s.
    I’m being silly…but you really are wonderful. I’m feeling all goofy about my friends this week…it’s been a rough time and I’m feeling all tearful-lucky, if that makes sense. I’m not sure what I’d do/be without the people I know.

    1. TeaseMeGirl

      Wow you’re quick tonight!
      AWww.. you’re such a sweetheart, you know that? I’m blushing *^_^* And I totally understand where you’re coming from with loving your friends that much more when times are rough. I have a huge soft spot for everyone.
      I have a family friend in.. *thinks* London(??) If I ever manage to swing by to visit him, I will have to meet up with you for absolute sure :D
      The cake is rather easy to make btw… if you have a stand mixer, at least. I’m not really much capable of kneading bread doughs by hand anymore.

    1. TeaseMeGirl

      LOL!
      If you ever make it, you need to know: make sure you use a nice fatty pork sausage, not some weird “old country sausage” that is like all meat and no filler/fat. Sounds strange, but it’s true. Too much meat does not make for a good Frog Dish. :P

Leave a Reply

