Throw together whatever dindin

It’s been a rather long tiresome day and I’ve still not recovered entirely from last night.

Last night before I was planning on turning in for bed, I put a bowl of lentils soaking so I could make something tasty today. I was originally going to make my curried lentils dish, but today is just not feeling like a curry-type day.

I wanted something… more “mediterranean”, for a lack of a better term and something carby or pasta-filled.

I sort of found what I was looking for, but at the same time I’m feeling less than enthusiastic about cooking, so I just threw everything I had into the pot and let it do its thing.

Basically 1/2 cup lentils (soaked overnight), 1 sliced shallot, 4 cloves of smashed garlic, a bunch of yellow tomatoes that were wrinkling, 2 bay leaves and waterto cover. Let it go for about 30 minutes or until the lentils are cooked to the right consistency.

While this was all cooking together, I could have made myself a pot of noodles, but that seemed like far too much effort so I ended up making a big bowl of couscous (1/2 cup + 1 cup water + some chicken soup base) then drizzled with a couple glugs of olive oil.

When the lentils were finally done cooking I mixed everything together, seasoned with lots of salt & pepper a little sprinkling of thyme and to finish things off with a flourish: a liberal sprinkling of feta cheese.

It’s good.

I made too much, as usual, so I will probably be eating this stuff for awhile.

Leave a Reply

