Aloha, pork!

Or perhaps it should be something more asian-esque.

Whatever.

Tonight, we are having pork for dindin — specifically, with pineapple.

I have all these snack-sized pineapple containers in the fridge that need consuming. For as much as I really, really enjoy pineapple, I have cold issues. So tonight, given that I am getting slightly tired of the usual panfried pork chop, route, and The Hubbs is tired of seeing those little plastic containers of pineapple languishing in the fridge, we are having pineapple pork.

The recipe’s pretty simple. I have to admit, I’ve never been huge on the fruit with pork thing nor am I a rabid fan of sweet & sour dishes. But this tastes alright. It’s not to sweet, it could do with a little more sour, but on the whole, it’s a pretty satisfying dish.

I will admit, even though I don’t much care for sweet’n’sour, I do have a soft spot for rice with oodles amounts of drowning sauce. So even though the original recipe served 4 people, I kept the proportions for only 2 pork chops. It’s kind of embarassing.

Pineapple Pork

1 Tbsp oil
2 boneless pork chops
1 onion, sliced
garlic
ginger
salt & pepper
1 1/2 cups chicken broth
2 Tbsp soy sauce
1 Tbsp red wine vinegar
2 Tbsp brown sugar
2 Tbsp cornstarch
1 cup pineapple chunks
1/2 cup pineapple juice

1. Heat the olive oil in a skillet over medium heat, and brown the pork chops about 5 minutes on each side. Remove chops from the skillet, and set aside.
2. Mix the chicken broth, soy sauce and vinegar into the skillet, and bring to a boil. Return the pork chops to the skillet, reduce heat, and simmer 20 minutes, to an internal temperature of 160 degrees F (70 degrees C). Remove chops from the skillet, reserving broth mixture, and set aside.
3. In a bowl, blend the brown sugar, cornstarch, and pineapple juice. Mix into the skillet with the chicken broth mixture. Bring to a boil. Serve with the cooked pork chops.

One thought on “Aloha, pork!

  1. My mom has a pork recipe sorta like this. It’s a Hawaiian Short Rib or something along those lines. It’s short ribs so there’s bone but you can substitute boneless. There’s bell peppers, onion and pineapple in it and it makes a soupy juice as it bakes. I fondly remember it as very tasty and I’d even commit the asian sin of putting the juice over my rice and eating it.

Leave a Reply

