Two cheerier things.

The long awaited (and most likely forgotten) picture of Sackboy, made by the wonderfully generous & skilled Empyress.

Isn’t he cute!

My cardamom braid is finished baking and now cooling on the rack. It looks, to be honest, perfect.

The recipe I got came, as always, from Allrecipes. I had originally considered making Espresso’s recommended recipe for Semla, but my grocery store didn’t have marzipan, much to my disappointment. So cardamom bread, it is.

Cardamom Braid fresh out of the oven

I still have mom’s bread machine, so making this recipe was ridiculously simple. I’m rather amazed that I haven’t considered making bread like this more often — I’m ashamed to say that it still makes me feel like a cop-out doing things in this way. I should just get over it, given SALLY doesn’t really afford me that much energy expenditure to begin with.

Changes I made:
-Add 1 teaspoon of almond extract
-Change the butter to canola oil
-Used only 1 1/2 tsp of cardamom instead of 3 on the off chance that the flavour might be too strong for us
-Used sugar in the raw as the decorative sugar

Seeing as the bread is currently cooling, I’m not really smelling the almond extract, perhaps next time I might increase it to 1 tablespoon?

Swedish Cardamom Braid
1 cup milk
1 tsp almond extract
1/2 tsp salt
1 egg yolk
2 Tbsp oil
3 cups all-purpose flour
1/3 cup sugar
1 envelope active dry yeast (2 1/4 tsp)
1 1/2 tsp ground cardamom

1 egg white, slightly beaten
pearl sugar, or other decorative sugar

* Place ingredients in the pan of the bread machine in the order recommended by the manufacturer. Select dough cycle; press Start.
* When the dough cycle has finished, divide into three equal portions.
* Roll each piece into a rope 12 to 14 inches long. Lay the three ropes side by side, then braid together.
* Tuck the ends underneath, and place onto a greased baking sheet, cover loosely with a towel, and allow to rise until doubled in bulk.
* Preheat oven to 375F/190C
* Brush the braid with beaten egg white and sprinkle with sugar.
* Bake in preheated oven until golden brown, 20 to 25 minutes.
* Cool on wire rack.

4 thoughts on “Two cheerier things.

  1. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm looks amazing!!!
    I wonder if I should get a bread maker, or just a stand mixer. I already have a huge ice cream maker :/

    1. TeaseMeGirl

      I personally would choose the stand mixer over the bread machine. But that’s mainly because I like to make cakes and cookies as well as breads with it ^_^

      1. :D Yayyy! I know that will be my first purchase upon moving to my new place :D In Red. To match my rice cooker… and also because red is great.

      2. TeaseMeGirl

        I also have the red mixer, it way first major kitchen/house purchase when The Hubbs & I decided to move in together :D
        …But red rice cooker?? :o where did you get that???
        My zojirushi is just the plain old creamy beige.

Leave a Reply

