Chicken & Dumplings FTW

Wow… some days I even impress myself :o

Chicken & Dumplings, pretty darned tasty!

The Hubbs thoroughly enjoyed dindin and we ended up with far too many leftovers, as usual, so I packed up 2x750ml containers with leftovers to be put in the fridge tomorrow and we have one very large corningware-full, as well, those will be eaten again tomorrow for dindin… and probably the next day… and the next day.

The only thing I forgot to do when I served, was to season with salt and pepper. An error easily fixed by seasoning individual bowls to taste.

So just so I have a vague record of what I did, to be used again for future reference: Throw a bunch of chicken carcasses into a pot, cover with water and bring to a boil. Skim off the scum, then turn down heat to simmer for ~2 hours. Remove all meat from bones, return meat to pot and add frozen veggies (carrots, peas, corn). Bring back to a simmer and drop dumplings on top of soup by tablespoonfuls. Cook dumplings for 10 minutes uncovered, then cover and cook for another 10 minutes before serving.

Other things I did:
* Added a 4th carcass to the pot for about two hours along with a bay leaf and a languishing cheese rind to add a little extra flavour — when I was picking off the meat from the final bird, I ate the cheese because I was starving by that point.

Something that I might change for next time: perhaps add some dry herbs to the biscuit mix, but otherwise, it was great as is.

Dumpling recipe: 2 cups bisquick + 2/3 cup milk

2 thoughts on “Chicken & Dumplings FTW

    1. TeaseMeGirl

      To be honest, there was no “average size” to my dumplings. They just ended up being however they wanted when I dropped them into the pot.
      There was the intention for them to be a little larger than golfball-sized, but some ended up larger (after puffing up) and some ended up slightly smaller because they had broken up.
      …The Hubbs was rather disappointed that there weren’t more dumplings in his bowl. I guess I’ll have to make them larger so he can feel like he’s getting more ^^

Leave a Reply

