Carrot Cake Recipe

This is my absolutely most favourite carrot cake recipe in the world. Since I’ve already copied out the recipe to email to a friend and I’ve never posted the recipe here in my journal, I figured I should put it down while I still remember.

The recipe’s a bit involved, ingredient-wise, because it’s healthier for you with all the extra added stuff plus being a low oil and high in protein, but it’s still my absolutely most favourite carrot cake recipe to this day… especially without frosting.

The recommended frosting recipe (which I’ve never tasted) makes this cake even higher in protein. That recipe I will put at the bottom.

Recipe from “The Junk Food Alternative — High-Nutrient Snacks, Desserts & Quick Meals” by Linda Burum, an old cookbook published in 1980 that I discovered in elementary school. Look! I even had interest in cookbooks when I still hadn’t even learned to cook on my own!

Extra Special Carrot Cake

1 cup drained, juice-pack crushed pineapple, juice reserved
1 ½ – 2 cups packed brown sugar (depends on how sweet you like the cake to be)
4 cups grated carrots
½ cup raisins
Juice from pineapple + enough water to make 1 1/3 cups
1 ½ tsp cinnamon
½ tsp ground cloves
½ tsp ground nutmeg
1 tsp ground allspice
Dash ground ginger
2 eggs, beaten
2 Tbsp oil
1 ½ cup all purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
1 cup wheat germ
2 tsp baking soda
1 ½ tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
½ cup (or more) chopped walnuts

Place pineapple in sieve to drain; reserve juice.
Simmer sugar, carrots raisins, liquid and spices in saucepan for 10 minutes
Allow to cool to room temperature then mix in eggs, oil and pineapple.
In a bowl, mix flours, wheat germ, baking soda, baking powder, salt & nuts until thoroughly combined.
Add to wet ingredients and mix well.
Grease 9×12” cake pan and pour in batter.
Bake in 350F preheated oven 30-40 minutes or until toothpick inserted comes out clean.
Cool in pan on rack and frost if desired.

Ricotta Frosting
2 cups ricotta cheese
1 tsp vanilla extract
¾+ cup powdered sugar (for a sweeter frosting use more sugar)

Blend all ingredients together until smooth.

2 thoughts on “Carrot Cake Recipe

Leave a Reply

