The sweet smell of… sugar!

I am feeling remarkably functional this morning and I’m not entirely sure as to why. I’m certainly NOT complaining about this fact, I’m just rather boggled as to how it seems to come without any warnings my super-low days and my rather crazy-high days.

Today I woke up at about 840am and wasn’t sure why I was up. No matter, I crawled out of bed, despite my body wanting to remain in bed. The sun was shining brightly, the sky actually looked blue and the wind appeared to be only a gentle-ish breeze compared to the last week of blustering winds and blowing snow. The only thing that was totally awake in me were my eyes. I felt all buggy-eyed awake. Very strange.

Last week, I had asked The Hubbs if he would see if there was anything his Sister would like me to make because Brit-BIL’s sister was in town for a visit. Apparently there was a request for Tablet.

Well guess what? It’s done and done. It’s currently sitting on the island cut and cooling, just waiting to be bagged and delivered to its final destination. Though truthfully, I would have no problems if they wanted to just come and pick it up themselves… I still can’t get Eggnog out of the garage because it’s completely snowed in.

Cooling Tablet

One recipe down and one more to go.

Recipe #2 of the day is going to be a revisit to Martha Stewart’s Fleur de Sel Toffee, but only a half-batch this time. Two pounds is a lot of toffee!

So to make my life easier, for future reference, I’m going to write out a half-batch recipe.

Fleur de Sel Toffee

Vegetable oil cooking spray
1 cup unsalted butter
1 1/3 cups sugar
37.5 ml water (2Tbsp + 1tsp + 1/2 tsp + 1/8 tsp)
2 Tbsp light corn syrup
Fleur de sel, for sprinkling

Line a large cookie sheet with parchment paper or spray with vegetable oil, and set aside.
Bring butter, sugar, water, and corn syrup to a boil in a large saucepan, whisking frequently until sugar dissolves and butter melts.
Cook, undisturbed, until mixture registers 300 degrees on a candy thermometer, about 12 minutes.

Whisk toffee mixture, then immediately pour onto prepared sheet, tilting pan to spread over entire surface.
Let stand for 30 seconds, then sprinkle with fleur de sel.
Let cool — Do not move the pan for first 30 minutes.
Break toffee into pieces.
Toffee will keep, covered, for up to 1 week.

Cooled Toffee
2 thoughts on “The sweet smell of… sugar!

Leave a Reply

