Experimenting…

Tonight is Family Dindin and so really I have no need to be making any food.

Thing is, I had this pork shoulder in the freezer that needed some paying attention to. The Hubbs ate the last of the pulled pork sandwiches at least a couple of months ago, so he no longer has quick grab’n’go lunches left for work.

I’ve done what I normally do for my pulled pork: remove the pork skin, generously over season the meat with the dry rub, drop it into the crockpot with 1 roughly chopped onion, 4 cloves of garlic and top it with about 1-1.5cups of whatever liquid is on hand. Today I used the last of The Hubbs’ cran-blueberry juice. Once that’s all done, set the crockpot to high and let it go til I’m feeling ambitious enough to remove the meat from the crock and then leave the liquid to cool overnight so I can remove the layer of fat. Tomorrow I’ll put the meat back into the crock on low and probably leave it again a good portion of the day until we’re ready to eat.

I still haven’t quite decided on how I’m going to serve the pulled pork. I’m really not a fan of BBQ sauce and The Hubbs isn’t a fan of my pseudo-Mexican attempts where I eat the pork with corn tortillas, salsa and sour cream. I was considering the idea of perhaps making pork springrolls or maybe a pork rillette… but I’m not slow cooking the pork in fat, so technically it can’t be a rillete, could it? Hrmmmm… I may be able to pull off the rillette after all, I gotta check out my Les Halles cookbook by Anthony Bourdain first.

Anyhow, I’ll figure something out. I would just like to eat the same meal without having to make two different variations. OH! Maybe a British pork pie in a Ploughman’s Lunch??? That sounds like a really good idea, too, now that I think about it. The pulled pork juices always end up super gelatinous which is a requirement of pork pie.

Or maybe even pull off a “Peking Pork”, instead of Peking Duck, dinner! Hrmmmmmmm… so many decisions! ^_^

With the skin, as opposed to just throwing it away this time, I thought I might be able to turn it into some crispy roast pork skin like the Chinese Crispy Roast pork my mom buys at the cooked meat counters. It’s my favourite part of crispy roast pork!

What I did: Scored the skin into a diamond fashion to the best of my abilties, seasoned all over generously with salt, pepper & a little thyme, put it into a 9×9″ pan with a little bit of water in the bottom of the pan and cooked it for 1hour @350F. I checked on it at that point and the colour was beautiful, but the skin was still pretty soft so I jacked up the temperature to 450F and left it in the oven for 25 minutes. It probably would’ve been better at 30 minutes, but I didn’t want to risk burning it so there’s only a couple of places (where it was pretty thick) where it’s perfectly coloured, but not quite rock hard crispy.

So yea, that’s it. That little portion of crispy roast pork is cooked to what looks to be perfection, visually, at least. I dunno how it tastes. I’m too scared to even touch it given I managed to accidentally give myself a wonderful oil burn on the inside of my wrist. It’s staying on the stove until completely cooled. I think I will save the rendered pork fat for a miniature attempt at rillette later on.


Super crispy pork skin!
Leave a Reply

