Successful salmon dinner

I have to admit, I don’t actually like salmon much. I’ve always found it rather excessively dry and or fishy tasting. If I do eat salmon there are less than a handful of ways that I enjoy eating it — sashimi/sushi (#1), wrapped in bacon, steamed fish heads/tails/collars. I’d like to say that I like to eat it when my mom just salts, peppers and drowns it in butter before baking, but the truth of the matter is that she cooks it until it’s dried out, and for me, that doesn’t make for good eats. My brothers enjoy it that way, but then I think they try and scoop up as much of the butter puddles as possible for their salmon when eating.

So here’s the weird thing: Monday morning, when I was driving down to the lab for my monthly bloodwork, I saw a big huge sign for Co-Op saying that wild salmon was on sale for $2.50/kg. Ordinarily this wouldn’t be of interest for me, but summer seems to be a good time to experiment with cheap and abundant foods.

Yesterday, I went shopping with mom and we stopped at Co-Op and were told that the truck delivering the salmon never arrived, it seemed to have gone missing. Boo for me :( So we eneded up going to Superstore to see what they had on offer. I eventually got myself a small piece of fish (about 350g), just enough for dinner and a little bit for leftovers, but certainly not what I was hoping for, which was a couple of nice sides that I could slice into individual portions and freeze for the next few months, and certainly not nearly as cheap as what Co-Op had been advertising.

Since seeing that sign on Monday for the cheap salmon, I made it my mission to find a recipe that would make the fish moist and super tasty. While I do enjoy the bacon-wrapped salmon that I’ve made in the past, I’ve never quite been able to make it so that the meat doesn’t dry out, so it’s something I’m going to have to work on.

So this is what I found: Baked salmon with capers

Served with: Spaghetti with garlic oil & pancetta

And a side of: Stir-fried broccoli

Three words: Oh. My. Wow.

Really, that amazing. I had it in my head that I wanted to make poached salmon, I don’t know why, but I did. I figured a moist-heat method would be a better plan for the salmon, given I really do like my steamed fish heads. At first I thought the recipe ~was~ poached, but after re-reading it, it turned out to be baked… at least that’s what the recipe states.

I am glad to say that because the fish is cooked in a foil pouch, all the moisture is retained from the veggies and so it ends up being essentially a steamed dish in the end. So yummy.

Here are the changes I made:

Salmon with Capers
Salmon filet (~350g is what I had)
Olive oil
2 Green onions, chopped
2 Tbsp Capers, rinsed
1 Tbsp Fresh dill, chopped
Lemon Pepper
4 Tbsp Butter

– Preheat oven to 400F.
– Lay a sheet of tin foil out, large enough to completely enclose the fish.
– Oil lightly with olive oil and place salmon on top, skin-side down.
– In a bowl, combine green onions, capers and dill. Set aside.
– Generously season salmon with lemon pepper (until you can’t see the salmon!)
– Top the salmon evenly with a thick layer of the onion-caper-dill mixture.
– Lay butter on the greenery and wrap the fish tightly so nothing can escape, but leave room to spare on top for steam to circulate.
– Put package on cookie sheet and throw into oven for 20 minutes.
– Be careful of hot tin foil and steam when opening fish package for serving.

As to the spaghetti, the only change I made was to halve the recipe, use real garlic, and season with garlic salt and lots of pepper in the end. Because I only used half the pancetta, there wasn’t enough saltiness for my liking, hence the use of the garlic salt… and I think I might be addicted to pepper in my pasta, so I used lots of fresh ground pepper in the recipe before serving, too. I’m so glad we have leftovers, it was really tasty — especially with the broccoli!

I will definitely be making this again.

Tonight: Prime rib steak currently marinating in olive oil with lemon zest, fresh thyme & rosemary + kosher salt & lots of pepper. Hoping that we can BBQ that sucker on the little baby hibachi tonight. ^_^ I have 2 potatoes that I was considering baking and serving with sour cream and green onions, but I’m thinking that I might want rice…? I dunno. Will have to see what The Hubbs feels like.

2 thoughts on “Successful salmon dinner

  1. Dunno, I just grill my salmon. Hot fire going, couple of minutes on both sides and it’s good. Just have to look for salmon with nice bright white streaks in the meat indicating all that tasteh fat.
    Costco actually has decent farmed salmon here. It comes 3 or 4 chunks to a pack and comes with an herb butter sauce for afterwards. We just toss it on the grill for a couple of minutes each side and serve. I like the herb butter since it adds that thyme and such to the meat and I scoop on some white rice and I’m a happy man.

    1. TeaseMeGirl

      Thing is, I don’t really like the TASTE of salmon…. Unless it’s a salmon head/collar. I do admittedly like them grilled or steamed… I totally blame my mom for my general dislike of baked salmon, she always manages to dry it out :(

Leave a Reply

