Dinner Tonight: Sacrificial Chicken

…Over fire, no less ^_^

Since I didn’t get to cook dindin last night, I made myself a promise that I would get out and buy all the ingredients (and tools!) necessary to hopefully make a BBQ chicken for tonight.

Before heading off to the grocery store, I stopped in at Canadian Tire to pick up a few things I’d been thinking would be good to have on hand for cleaning out my UFO on a regular basis — a galvanized steel bukkit for ashes as well as storing BBQ implements in, a small brush to get the ashes out of the UFO and a dustpan because… well it seemed like a good idea at the time for getting the ash out of the bottom of the kettle without having to flip it over onto its side.

What I should have probably also considered was perhaps a little shovel of sorts to scoop the still useable charcoal out of the UFO — then again, I could probably just use the dustpan, it’s just not terribly rugged, given it’s plastic.

Anywho, I have currently marinating: a sacrificial chicken that’s been spatchcocked, and is currently in a bag with 1 peeled & quartered onion, 1 quartered & sqeezed lemon, a bunch of fresh thyme, sage & rosemary, plus a little olive oil for lubrication and the requisite salt & pepper. I also have waiting, some garlic butter that I think I will smear under the breast skin to keep the meat moist… hopefully. And then I might do a light basting of hainanese chicken chili sauce over top just for some extra zinginess… I could possibly be making this overkill.

Today’s side to the the sacrificial chicken will once again be grilled zucchini and the last of the spanish tortilla, and probably the leftover portabella mushroom. Nothing terribly fancy, but I really, really, really, really hope this works… I’m rather anxious for this to work and for my chicken to cook properly.

My current conundrum consists of trying to decide how to go about grilling my chicken:

* Do I throw the chicken directly over the hot coals, skin-side down to begin with, then turn skin-up for the remainder of the cooking time and pray I don’t end up with a burnt bird with raw innards?
* Or do I pile the coals to one side, sear the chicken for a few minutes skin-side down over the hot-hot coals, then put it to the side of the grill where there is no charcoal so the chicken can then cook skin-up over indirect heat for… goodness only knows how long..??

PANIC! PANIC! PANIC I TELL YOU!!!!

I wish someone could tell me straight up what would be the best course of action for me o_O;;;;;

Leave a Reply

