Hmmm…..

Two words: Butterbeer.

Admittedly, I am not a massively huge Harry Potter fan, but when there’s food involved and it’s presented in fairly great detail, I’m pretty much all there.

For some reason butterbeer has been stuck in my head for months now and I have no idea why. It could be that whole inability to consume alcohol, thing. Yes, in the books butterbeer is what I assume to be slightly alcoholic, but seeing as they are more or less geared towards kids (even though it wasn’t originally intended as such, so I’ve heard) there are a slew of non-alcoholic versions of the recipe floating around online which I could be testing.

The recipe I’m considering trying is this one:

1 cup club soda or cream soda
1/2 cup butterscotch syrup*
1/2 Tbsp butter

Measure butterscotch and butter into a 16oz. glass.
Microwave on high for 60-90 seconds or until syup is bubbly and butter is melted.
Stir and cool for 30 seconds.
Slowly mix in cream soda, mixture will fizz quite a bit.
Serve.

* I’m thinking that if you’re using club soda, 1/2 cup of butterscotch sauce makes sense — there’s no sweetener in that beverage. However, if you’re using cream soda instead, I am under the assumption that the sugar shock your body would go into from both the cream soda & the butterscotch sauce would be pretty intense, so perhaps proceed with caution if you choose this option.

The only thing I’m curious about with this recipe is if the ingredients listed would produce enough (if any) of a head, like on beer. I don’t really know why that aspect, of all things, is plaguing my mind but I am assuming it has something to do with the fact that I’ve made friends with The Moose again tonight. Yanno… the whole obsessing about stupid stuff that tends to happen after shake’n’ baking? Ya. Rly.

So yea. I think perhaps I shall pick up some of the ingredients tomorrow for that. The weather’s turned cold and rainy and it could make for a fun little experiment.

As an aside, there is an authentic butter beer recipe that exists which is dated to be from the 1500’s Tudor Time, which reads similarly to a traditional eggnog recipe, if you’re at all familiar with that.

The super interesting information on Buttered Beere can be found on the Historical Foods — The Art of Cooking History website and is a really interesting read. In fact the whole website I find incredibly fascinating, but that’s because I find food history incredibly interesting to begin with.

Just because it amuses me so, I am going to repost what the website lists as being the first recipe for butter beer:

To make Buttered Beere – From 1588
From, ‘The Good Huswifes Handmaide for the Kitchin’ (published in London 1588 AD)

Take three pintes of Beere, put five yolkes of Egges to it, straine them together, and set it in a pewter pot to the fyre, and put to it halfe a pound of Sugar, one penniworth of Nutmegs beaten, one penniworth of Cloves beaten, and a halfepenniworth of Ginger beaten, and when it is all in, take another pewter pot and brewe them together, and set it to the fire againe, and when it is readie to boyle, take it from the fire, and put a dish of sweet butter into it, and brewe them together out of one pot into an other.

Leave a Reply

