Hamburger Stroganoff

When The Hubbs & I make homemade hamburgers, we always end up with at least 2 leftover burgers which tend to sit around the fridge uneaten unless someone absolutely has to. This is the recipe I’ve always had in my head but never quite knew how to make in reality. I don’t know how I finally figured it out, but I think it probably involved lying awake one night because of The Moose. It is incredibly yum.

When The Hubbs makes hamburgers (I do the grilling around here, now, it would seem): mix a 1lb package of ground beef with 1 egg and 1 package of roast onion soup mix, shape it into 4-5 patties. When I grill the burgers, I salt & pepper the one side that is going immediately face down on the hot grill and then do the same thing for the other side when it’s getting flipped over. And yes, we cook our burgers well done. Even though I am a huge fan of the medium rare steak, I can’t really stomach the idea of eating a medium rare burger, that just seems wrong.

It’s not authentic, but the stroganoff was super yum. There is no other way of describing it. I’m ridiculously pleased at how fantastic it tasted and amazed that we both ate as much as we did given how small our meal sizes tend to be. The recipe’s simple and basically used everything I had leftover in the fridge with the exception of having to buy some sour cream last week. Now I am very excited to have leftover hamburgers just so I can make stroganoff. The amounts I’ve given below used only one patty and was more than enough meat for our liking. This was enough for The Hubbs and I to each have a decent portion for dindin and then 2 portions remaining for him to have for lunch during the week. Given that our hamburgers are about ~1/4lb each, I would say that using two leftover burgers would probably make for an overly meaty stroganoff, if there’s such thing, but do what you would like best.

Hamburger Stroganoff

1/2 pack of egg noodles
1/4 cup butter
1 leftover hamburger (nuked for ~30 seconds just to take the excess fridge cold, off)
1 heaped spoonful flour
1 1/2-2 cups beef broth (1 spoonful of beef bouillon dissolved in hot water)
1/2 cup sour cream (or more, to taste)
1/2 cup frozen peas
1 Tbsp smoked paprika
garlic salt & pepper, to taste

Put a pot of water on to boil and cook egg noodles until desired doneness.
Meanwhile, put a skillet over medium heat and melt butter.
Once the butter starts to melt, add the hamburger and break it up with a potato masher until it’s completely uniform.
Add the heaped spoonful of flour to the meat mixture and cook until the flour is well incorporated.
Add a generous amount of smoked paprika & pepper to the meat and stir well to combine.
Pour in the beef broth and stir until thickened, adding a little extra water if it needs it.
Turn off the heat and stir in the sour cream until completely mixed through. Stir in peas.
Taste sauce and season with garlic salt and extra paprika, if needed (I probably used somewhere around 1Tbsp total).
Serve over egg noodles.

Leave a Reply

