Newbie MMO player…

Okay, so, the only game(s) I’ve played in the MMO realm are actually few & far between: World of Warcraft, Aion, Age of Conan & now currently, Lord of the Rings Onilne.

The first three have been paid account games, but LOTRO isn’t. It’s free to play.

Now, ordinarily I wouldn’t actually consider playing another MMO and generally speaking I’ve never seen the draw to free games because I always had a niggling feeling that there was some sort of catch to playing, but since my accident on Friday, I’ve been trying to find things that would distract me. (I’m also not sleeping well since the accident, but that’s neither here nor there.)

Well I just figured out why I am not a huge fan of LOTRO. Other than WoW has totally and utterly spoiled me in the MMPORPG realm, I have just discovered that in order to advance in the game more easily, to acquire certain items/quests/skills/maps/etc… you have to pay for stuff. Okay, you don’t have-to-have-to, but you get my drift. This just bites.

Example: The game advertises, for a lack of a better word, that you can acquire mounts at Level 5. LEVEL 5!! That’s totally unheard of in any game I’ve ever played before! I just found out that I need 295 turbine points in order to acquire the Basic Riding Skill. I am level 10. I have 55 turbine points. Not amused. ¬_¬

So yea, WoW has forever spoiled me and I dunno what to play in the meantime until Cataclysm comes out.

*tragic sigh*

Leave a Reply

