Woohoo!

Green Tomato Relish 2010 is complete!

I got 4x500ml jars out of this batch.

According to my calculations last night, the 9 cups of roma tomatoes is equal to approximately 3lb12oz. Adding to that, 4 cups of chopped onion is about 4 onions-worth.

After salting and draining everything overnight, and then manually squeezing out more excess waters/juices, it still ended up being an impressive amount of vegetables, once I mixed it all up with the brine.


Veggies being simmered in brine

Now I just have to figure out what to do with the last of my green tomatoes, cuz there’s still quite a number of them remaining — yes, I will be making fried green tomatoes at some point, but I don’t think we could eat them all that way. Perhaps I will see if I can’t wrangle together a mini-batch recipe of green tomato pickles?? I tried doing that once, but failed since I didn’t know the proper technique for pickling and preserving.

Anywho… I’m done for the day.


Green Tomato Relish 2010 complete!

Piccalilli (aka Green Tomato Relish)

9 cups green tomatoes, stem ends & cores removed, chopped
1 green pepper, seeded & chopped
4 cups onions, chopped
1/2 cup coarse (pickling) salt

3 cups vinegar
3 cups sugar
1 Tbsp pickling spice, tied in double layer of cheesecloth
1 tsp mustard seed

Mix first 4 ingredients together in large bowl.
Cover & let stand on counter overnight.
Drain well, pressing to remove juice.

In a large saucepan, combine vinegar, sugar, pickling spice and mustard seed.
Add drained veggies and bring to a boil, stirring frequently.
Turn down heat and allow to just simmer, uncovered, about 5 minutes until veggies are half done.
Discard spice bag.
Pour into hot sterilized 500ml jars to within 1/2″ (1cm) of top.
Place sterilized metal lids on jars and screw metal bands on securely.
For added assurance against spoilage, process in a boiling water bath for 5 minutes.

Makes 5x500ml jars

4 thoughts on “Woohoo!

  1. I grew up on green tomato pickles.
    What I remember from helping my grandfather make them:
    Into the jar went green tomatoes, a bunch of salt, and a bunch of “pickling spices” I don’t remember the handful of dill that went into the similar jars of cucumber pickles.
    And water. And time.
    There was no specific canning or preserving activity that I recall.

      1. We are admitedly going on. . . well. . . er. . . 18 year old memories here. But I don’t remember my grandfather putting vinegar in either his cucumber dill pickles (the main pickle deal of the household) or his green tomato pickles.
        I think the main thing to get from recipes, for safety, would be the ratio of salt to water in the brine.

      2. TeaseMeGirl

        Well you’ve at least given me something to play around with, which is an awesome start, so I shall be doing some in depth research on “old fashioned” pickle/preserving recipes to see what they recommend.

Leave a Reply

