Yumms

Pot roast was an absolutely incredible first run of our bison stash.

I had prepped for the roast early Saturday because I knew that the hunk of meat needed to have some considerable thaw time before being cooked today.

For whatever reason, this pot roast was infinitely better than my last attempt using beef. I don’t know if it’s because I bought the wrong cut, or I didn’t cook it long enough, or what, but this was the same fall apart tender that I experienced when I used those veal shanks my first time making “pot roast”.

Having said that, the recipe was pretty basic on all fronts — hunk of meat, 1 1/2 onions chopped, 4 homegrown baby carrots chopped, 2 bay leaves, 3 sprigs of thyme and beef broth to come up most of the way up the meat when it’s in the crock pot. I threw everything into the crock and set it on high from 10am-6pm because it turned out the bison was still pretty frozen in the middle.

During cooking there was a little bit of an accident while I was out getting my flu shot this afternoon — I had cut the string off the roast and as it thawed, the meat “popped open” which resulted in the lid being completely ajar for I don’t know how long. Dinner still turned out, but I was pretty worried for awhile that it the meat wouldn’t attain its proper fall apart tenderness by eating time.

Totally tasty and served with homegrown mashed potatoes, which were also absolutely fabulous, to boot.

Now I just have to figure out what to do with the, as usual, mass of leftovers. I could probably get about 2-3 more dinner meals out of our pot roast. Tomorrow I think I’m going to make bison dip sandwiches with some nice garlicky buns and then maybe concentrate the meat juices down to something really tasty. The Hubbs’ suggestion was that I make a shepherd’s pie, so I may try that this week as well.

2 thoughts on “Yumms

    1. TeaseMeGirl

      Yea! Mutual friends of ours have a family farm that they’ve let J&R plant on a little section of the last couple of years.
      This year they grew potatoes, beets, beans, peas, dill, carrots, etc etc etc… and they gave us 2 bags of homegrown potatoes (regular yellow + purple!) and a big bag of multi-coloured carrots. They were so awesome last night.
      I’m still amazed at how awesome homegrown veggies taste compared to the stuff you get at a grocery store.
      Since they’ve been getting more and more into the local buying of their groceries, they’ve been kind enough to ask if anyone else wants in on the fun when they do things like buy portions of cow, bison, game birds, etc.. it’s cool ^_^

Leave a Reply

