Feeling blurgh and craving… beans?

I’ve been feeling absolutely crumtastic the last few weeks — since the week of Christmas, actually.

There’s the possibility that my body is in the process of hating wheat/carbs/starchiness again and I’m trying to decide if I’m ready to cut it out of my eating… feeling crummy and having to make relatively huge diet changes all at the same time rather sucks.

Either way, right now I’m craving canned beans in a salad form of sorts.

Seeing as I am all Moosed up and I made the decision a few weeks ago to taper off the Anti-D’s, I am craving beans. Surprisingly, the canned, salt-free, organic chickpeas I opened up and rinsed, are really tasty straight up out of the colander. Other than in a nice pot of chilli, I really don’t much care for beans. Actually, I also kind of have a thing for “Mexican” cheesy bean dip you get out of a jar… and possibly refried beans made with lots of lard and cheese.

(FYI: Cutting down and eventually entirely eliminating the Anti-D’s has significantly dropped the number of consecutive days of pain as well as its severity, THANK GOODNESS… stupid f*cking anti-depressants. So not playing this game anymore.)

I was trying to think of a relatively quick and tasty snack that could be had with just a can of beans and I came up with a few different options — white bean tuna salad, white bean tabbouleh, bean & corn salad.

The white bean & tuna was actually my first choice, but then I discovered that we have no canned tuna in the house. I momentarily considered the bean & corn salad, but there were far too many ingredients involved and it would make way too much for me to eat on my own since The Hubbs I don’t think cares for beans, let alone corn. So that left me with the tabbouleh. I’m certainly not disappointed since it fit all my criteria for the night: few ingredients, fast, easy.

Even though the recipe is short with relatively few ingredients, I did make changes: Instead of cannellini beans, I used chickpeas. Before soaking the bulgur, I mixed in 1 cup dried parsley, some dried onion flakes, a few shakes of garlic powder and maybe a heaped teaspoon of dried mint & orange tea leaves. The reason I used the dried onion and garlic is because I didn’t want to deal with any chopping at this late hour and also, I didn’t want anything to be terribly overpowering, especially before bed. Embarassingly, we have hardly any fresh veggies in the house at the moment because we haven’t done any proper grocery shopping since before Christmas Eve, so I didn’t actually put any into the tabbouleh.

My version of the tabbouleh was decent enough as a bare bones recipe, but next time I will cut back on the olive oil to 2-3 tablespoons instead of the quarter cup the original calls for. Mind you, considering the serious lack of veg, I’m pretty sure that had something to do with it.

Practically Veg-less Chickpea Tabbouleh

1 cup bulgur wheat, uncooked
1 1/2 cups boiling water
1 cup dried parsley
1/4 cup dried mint
dried onion flakes, to taste
garlic powder, to taste
1 can chickpeas, rinsed
2 green onions, chopped
2-3 Tbsp olive oil
3 Tbsp lemon juice
salt & pepper, to taste

In a large bowl, mix together bulgur, parsley, mint, onion flakes and garlic powder.
Pour over boiling water and let stand 30 minutes, covered, until water is absorbed and wheat is fluffy.
Fluff bulgur with fork and add remaining ingredients.
Lightly stir through and refridgerate to let flavours combine.

Leave a Reply

