Things to do for 2011

I think I have decided to make a concerted effort to start a journal.

Not an online one, but more of a doodle book of stuff. From what I’m gathering, it’s currently the “in thing to do”, but that’s not why I’ve decided to do it. A few weeks ago, I had written about the Happy Sponge and how I was thinking I might start a journal for things that made me happy so I could look at it when I’m feeling crummy. I finally did it this morning.

The day started off less than stellar (Hello, Moose) and after a couple of hours of semi-restful, but mostly fitful sleep, I got up to make some breakfast and cracked open the notebook I got for my birthday.

What really made me click into wanting to start my journal was reading this blog entry on Journaling 101, so to speak. Giving myself permission to use the book as a catch all for brain dribbles no matter what form they come in, be it written, doodled, or glued. I especially love the reminder of glueing.

When The Hubbs & I were dating, I used to pick up all sorts of little mementos from places we had gone to — business cards, matchbooks, pictures (when printing pictures was still considered the norm), etc. It was just a lovely reminder of things we had done together. While we were cleaning out the loft a few months back, I stumbled across one of the old notebooks I had bought when we in Chicago and it was filled with the three week trip I had made just after graduation. It was filled with receipts from restaurants, ticket stubs, restaurant menus & business cards, along with random things I had written about each little item and what was going through my mind at the time. I want to get back to that. It was a really small glimpse into what we did, but it brought back a flood of memories that made me happy.

My aim is to use it for a little bit of everything, not just limiting it to happiness only. I’m not putting any restrictions on what goes into it, we’ll just see what happens as it happens. I’m hoping that it will eventually become a fulfilling piece of… something. What? I don’t know yet.

So that has been the start to my weekend: The Happy Sponge Journal.

Leave a Reply

