Bison Pot Roast

The pot roast I made yesterday in the crockpot, while I was out and about with the girls, was kind of tasty but it seems like it was missing something… I don’t think the ginger marmalade was flavourful enough to compete against the beef stock and the flavour of the bison. It went pretty nicely with mashed potatoes, but there is something missing. Perhaps it needs more curry powder? Or perhaps garam masala to up the flavour intensity?

The recipe called for a jar of chutney and I could have sworn I had a bottle in the fridge, but apparently I was wrong so I substituted what remained of a jar of ginger marmalade. I figured it couldn’t be a bad combination since there are recipes for orange beef out there. As much as I am generally not a fan of meat + fruit combinations, the raisins in this recipe didn’t make the pot roast overly sweet, which I liked. The little nubbins of juiciness were actually quite nice.

I will have try the recipe again with a proper jar of chutney (hot? mango? hot mango??) one day but for now, I still have a fair bit of leftovers that I need to contend with.

Spiced Pot Roast

3 pounds boneless beef rump or chuck roast
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1 1/2 cups beef broth
1/2 cup chutney
1/2 cup raisins
1/2 cup chopped onion
1 1/2 teaspoons curry powder
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

In a crockpot, combine all ingredients and pour over roast.
Cover and cook until meat is tender.
Thicken gravy if desired.

Leave a Reply

