Things that impress me

It would seem that the last week-ish, I’ve been rather impressed with myself.

First it started off with the bison spaghetti sauce, then it was the spaghetti alla puttanesca. Then I got some weird obsessive thing in my head to have breakfast for dinner on Saturday night so I went and made homemade flour tortillas from scratch(!) to be eaten with basically a potato & egg scramble that had chopped onions, red peppers and tomatoes all cooked together. Sunday was of course meatloaf and meatball day and today I’ve got a batch of pinto beans cooking in the crockpot so I can make refried beans for dinner along with another batch of flour tortillas and potato-egg scramble. In the meantime, I’ve gone and made some homemade corn tortillas for nachos!

That’s a rather impressive few days, if I do say so myself. I’m a little suprised at the sudden Messican kick but pleased nonetheless. Using real beans for refried beans as opposed to lentils like I did a few months ago will be interesting. I’m hoping they’ll be cooked in time for dinner. I started them at about 1130am and according to Praxxus’ recipe , it should only take three hours on high in the crockpot. For some reason that sounds like a very short amount of time o_O;;


So anyhow, yea. That’s what I’ve been up to for the last few days.

I’ve come down with The Hubbs’ cold and so I’m not feeling the greatest, but I am feeling a little better than I did yesterday. This could be because I took two benedryl before bed which knocked me out so I could actually sleep through the night and got some much needed rest. The Hubbs has been knocked out by this flu-cold thing and has been at home sick since Friday. He tried going into work yesterday, but ended up coming straight back home after being there for only an hour. Tunnel vision and dizziness is generally not a good thing to have while you’re at work. So he went to the walk-in clinic and thankfully he doesn’t have bronchitis or pneumonia. He’s pretty much going to be staying at home and recouperating all this week which is a bit disappointing on the one hand, because he’s having to use vacation time to do this, but on the other, I’m glad he’s finally doing what needs to be done to get well and not constantly pushing his body to excessive limits when it’s already under so much strain.

Tomorrow I have my appointment with Fam Doc and then Friday I need to bring Sahmy in to see the vet. Somehow she managed to lose her fang but we’re not sure when it happened. We’re kind of worried that the root might be still stuck, but it’s hard to tell, not being familiar with cat dentistry. Hopefully it won’t be a traumatizing experience and we’re really hoping she won’t need emergecy surgery. The Hubbs is really upset about the whole thing and wondering if we should have spent the $1k that we didn’t have (and STILL don’t have) a few years ago for her to have the whole dental thing done. *sigh*

Anywho, I think it’s naptime… then time for refried beans! WOO!

One thought on “Things that impress me

  1. Pingback: Yum… « Adventures of the Purple Soybean Nap Avenger

Leave a Reply

