What do I call this…?

So I’ve had it in my head the last week to make something resembling shredded beef to be eaten inside homemade flour tortillas. Thing is, I dunno what I would technically call it. The recipe I used as my template calls it Roja Vieja, which translates to "old clothes".

My brain is all fuzzed up and just broken since I started the new meds on Saturday.

I’ve been having headaches when I wake up in the morning, which is so not cool, and today I was supremely nauseous. Like I was saying to a gf this morning, I dunno what the hell I did at the lab, but omg my low back on my left side was killing me. Really? This is so not cool. Side Effects of the Adcirca: headache, muscle pain, getting red or hot in the face (flushing), nausea, pain (in the arms, legs, or back), upset stomach, and stuffy or congested nose. The only things I don’t have on that list are flushing, muscle pain… and the stuffy/congested nose is questionable given my cold, but I’m pretty sure I may have that too -_-;;; GUH.. I realize I am being rather immature here, but how long do I have to wait before the side effects wear off??? Why did we decide to do this again?? :P~

So after I got back from the lab, I prepped dinner. Unfortunately I don’t have my crockpot on hand because I lent it to Miss R so she could make enough BBQ beef to serve 40 people over the long weekend when they were helping to build a community garden at St.Barnabus church. I basically threw everything into my pot and let it simmer from about 100-ish til 4pm and have now tossed it into the oven for another two hours at 325F in hopes that the meat breaks down and ends up wonderfully fork tender. As it stands now, it’s not doing that and I am very, very sad because of it. I have my fingers crossed that it will end up doing what it’s supposed to, but I don’t have much faith in that right now and am very disappointed. Because of the lack of fork tenderness, I am making up a pot of rice to serve with the bison and all the tomatoes at the botom of the pot. It would be a shame to waste all those wonderful juices, and there are a LOT of them. I would actually consider just scooping it up into a bowl and just drinking it as a soup to be honest.

Anyhow, recipe with my changes are below. If this roast does in fact turn out the way I want it to, which is to say wonderfully fall apart and fork tender, I will definitely make this again to be tucked into some homemade flour tortillas, but for now I guess we’ll just eat this and all the wonderful juices over rice. I will definitely use the recipe again with some short ribs or perhaps even some oxtail, because it does smell pretty darn fantastic as it is and I betcha it would taste even better over noodles as a light sauce!

So what do I call it? I still haven’t quite figured that out yet. It needs a name. Help!

Yummy Bison

Cross-rib bison roast
olive oil
1/2 red onion, sliced
3/4 bulb garlic, sliced
1 can fire roasted tomatoes
1/2 bottle salsa verde
1 cup beef broth
salt & pepper
water

Season bison roast generously with salt and pepper and set aside.
In a large pot, cook onions and garlic until soft and fragrant.
Move onions to the outside of the pot and sear the bison on all sides.
Once meat is seared, add beef broth to pan to deglaze, be careful not to burn yourself from the steam!
Add fire roasted tomatoes and salsa verde to pot, swishing out containers with water to add to pot.
If needed, pour in extra water so that the liquid level comes most of the way up the roast.
Cover pot and bring to a boil, turn down heat and let simmer until meat is fall apart tender.

Crock-pot version: Put onions and garlic in bottom of crock. Season roast and place on top of onions. Pour tomatoes and salsa around meat and add beef broth, adding enough water to come most of the way up the roast, as needed. Cook on high until meat is fall apart tender.

Leave a Reply

