Yum, homemade flour tortillas!

Wow, I just realized something: I had posted about making homemade refried beans, but I failed to post the recipe I used to make homemade flour tortillas that same night o_O;;

Bummer. I didn’t realize that I had left everyone stranded without the flour tortilla recipe! How sad and disappointing is that? I feel quite badly now since it’s been a good 3+ weeks since I made them and I keep mentioning/thinking about making them again.

The recipe I used is off Youtube. Well, actually, it’s more like from the Sin City Recut & Extended DVD. I don’t even know how I managed to stumble upon the video, but it was pretty awesome and also happens to be the recipe I used for the potato scramble when I first made the flour tortillas. Awesome possum, I tell you.

Flour Tortillas
2 cups flour
2 tbsp lard
2 tbsp butter
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp bp
3/4+ cup hot water

Throw all the dry ingredients in to a food processor and pulse a few seconds until you have a mealy texture.
Add hot water through feed tube until you have a nice cohesive ball, adding more if needed.
Let the machine run a bit longer until you get a nice smooth texture and dough is “kneaded”.
Take out dough and divide into 8-10 golf ball sized pieces.
Get a warm damp towel and cover dough for 20-30 minutes.
After dough’s rested, heat a cast iron pan over medium heat until hot.
Roll out tortillas as thin as possible.
When pan’s hot, lay tortilla in dry pan for a few seconds until it turns brown in a few spots.
Flip tortilla and let brown in few spots on other side for a few seconds.
Flip once more and let the tortilla puff up, pressing down with a spatula to squish out air.
When tortillas are cooked, set aside in towel lined casserole to keep warm.
Repeat with all tortillas. Serve hot and fresh. Yum.

As for yesterday, I am uber proud of my accomplishments once again. I made buttermilk biscuits for the first time and I served them with sausage gravy! I think I still need to work on my sausage gravy-making seasoning skills. Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaay salty. Like crazy waaaaaaayyyyyyy salty! Totally my own fault, but still. The Hubbs seemed to be mostly okay with it, but I have to ask: what does one serve with biscuits and gravy to make it a more “complete” meal? (Read: greenary? suggestions? salad??)

Hello Kitty buttermilk biscuits

I have to admit, I was pretty impressed! I followed Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything iPad app recipe, for the most part, but did make a couple of changes mostly due to the fact that Calgary’s lack of humidity makes a difference in how much liquid you need to use in a recipe to make things come together properly. You’d think I’d realize this liquid issue after my lightbulb moment with making risotto, but no. I also increased the quantity of butter used (shameful!) and brushed the tops of the biscuits with whatever buttermilk dregs remained in my measuring cup to help fascilitate golden-browness ^_^ Anyhow, recipe is super simple since it uses the food processor. I seem to be all about using my food processor lately.

Buttermilk Biscuits
2 cups flour, plus extra for dusting
1 scant tsp salt
1 Tbsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/3 cup cold butter (more is better)
¾ cup+ buttermilk

Heat the oven to 450°F
Mix the dry ingredients together in a bowl or food processor.
Cut the butter into chunks and pulse it in the food processor, the butter should be thoroughly blended into the flour mixture.
Pulse a few of times to stir in the buttermilk, just until the mixture forms a ball.
Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead it 10 times; no more.
Press dough into ¾” thick rectangle and cut into 2‐inch rounds with a (Hello Kitty!) biscuit cutter.
Put biscuits on a parchment-lined baking sheet. Gently reshape the leftover dough and cut again.
Brush tops of biscuits with a little bit of buttermilk and bake for 7 to 9 minutes, or until golden brown.

2 thoughts on “Yum, homemade flour tortillas!

  1. I’ve considered making tortillas myself but I wasn’t sure if it was actually worth the work…do they really taste much better than store bought? btw the biscuits look awesome!

    1. TeaseMeGirl

      Hi!

      You know what, homemade flour tortillas (when made in a food processor, at least) are AWESOME. Store bought does not even compare! They do turn out a little puffier and thicker than store-bought, but to be honest, I like them a lot more that way. So yes, in my opinion, it is totally worth the work and to be honest, it’s not that hard or really complicated. I will definitely be making flour tortillas every time I make something that would benefit from some wonderful homemade flatbreads. I was super impressed with my biscuits, too! ^_^

Leave a Reply

