Fish Egg Tapioca Soup

A bowl of fish egg tapioca is actually remarkably comforting when I don’t have the ingredients for real tapioca (or custard) in the house. It’s a bit runnier than regular tapioca, but I don’t actually mind just slurping it back this way and it will thicken more as it’s left to sit. There are only has 5 ingredients: Almond milk, sugar, vanilla, chia seeds & ground flax seeds, all warmed up in the microwave and left to stand until a bit thick.

I’m rather pleased about this for some reason. Maybe it’s because I am feeling crappy and this actually feels good to me right now. I’ve not really eaten much today and so this might be a good boost before bed, plus I haven’t had my daily bottle of dirty fish eggs. Though this is by far way more chia seeds than I normally eat in a day.

Nice thing about this is that it’s lactose free, if anyone out there is having milk issues (like me) ^_^ If I had a bowl of milk this large I would be a very unhappy girl on top of feeling crummy. No point adding to the misery, right?

Fish Egg Tapioca Soup

1 1/2 cups of almond milk
3 Tbsp chia seeds, divided
1 Tbsp ground flax seeds
sugar, to taste
vanilla, to taste

Add 2 Tbsp of chia seeds and the remaining ingredients to a microwave safe bowl, stirring everything together, and microwave til warm.
Remove milk from microwave, adding remaining 1 Tbsp of chia and stirring gently.
Let bowl stand a few minutes so chia seeds have time to swell.
Add a little more almond milk if it’s too thick for your liking, though keep in mind it will thicken even more as it stands.

Leave a Reply

