Thinky thoughts..

So, for the last couple of months I’ve been thinking random things and one of these things that keeps resurfacing is this: croissants.

Specifically, learning how to make croissants from scratch.

A croissant I miss especially, are those that the City Bakery used to make — almond croissants and even chocolate croissants. Or I suppose more correctly pain au chocolat and croissants aux amandes. I like chocolate croissants well enough, but it’s almond croissants which I love more, with the marzipan filling and light icing sugar dusting over crisp sliced almonds. Paired with a hot cup of milky tea, an almond croissant is just a wonderful way to start a cool fall or winter morning.

Ever since City Bakery closed, I’ve not been able to find a decent croissant in years. Actually, no, that’s not entirely true. I did have a very tasty croissant from Brulee Patisserie this summer that I would happily buy again, but they are far, far away from us being all the way downtown. Not that the City Bakery was any closer, but at least we didn’t have to deal with paying for parking and it was a nice place to stop in on weekends to pick up a wonderful foccaccia and a few little cakes along with a croissant or two. Who the hell wants to pay for parking for a five minute stop-in for a loaf of bread?

So, I have decided that I should just learn how to make croissants myself.

Yes, I could just go to the grocery store and buy something like a Pillsbury tube, but those are kind of scary… and they taste funny, too. In fact, I have discovered that all Pillsbury stuff that I have come across, tastes funny. I suppose I could buy some puff pastry and make something resembling a croissant, I am certainly not opposed to doing that seeing as frozen puff pastry is actually really darned tasty….

But, no… I want a real croissant and to be honest, the idea of making a croissant from scratch makes me a little nervous and excited. Just the thought of making a homemade croissant makes me a little giddy and even a teeny bit scared.

So that’s my plan.

I don’t know when it will happen, but I think it will have to be when the weather has decided to cool down permanently and I am feeling a little more human again. The current weather changes have left me feeling pretty rough around the edges the last few days and I think I need at least a couple weeks, I imagine, to try and feel something resembling normal.

I am thinking that this might be an ambitious project, with a lot of patience involved, but it will definitely be worth it in the end.

Besides, what could possibly be better than fresh croissants with jam? Afterall, I do need a proper vehicle for all the jams I’ve made this year.

Wish me luck ^_^

Leave a Reply

