Happy Birthday to The Hubbs (kind of late)

May you have a wonderful year ahead, filled with lots more love and laughter.
Xoxo

….And birthday cake!

For the first time ever, I made The Hubbs a birthday cake for his birthday. I don’t quite know why I’ve never done this before, but I guess a lot of it boiled down to SALLY or else we would go out with friends for dinner and have cake there, or my parents would buy one when we were celebrating at their house.

I am rather proud of the accomplishment, but the tiniest smidgen disappointed because I kind of forgot to buy a key ingredient: a chocolate bar to make chocolate sprinkles to adorn the side of the cake.

I made a black forest cake!

We know it’s not an authentic cake, but it is definitely a very, very tasty cake. I made a rather interesting discovery last night while sharing a slice of cake in bed, watching a movie: I actually like black forest cake! At least, I like the black forest cake that I made. I still don’t particularly care for the industrial black forest cakes you normally get at a grocery store — though having said that, for some reason the black forest cake at Costco always impresses me.

But anyhow.

Knowing that it would be rather impossible for the two of us to consume an entire “regular-sized” black forest cake, I decided to make a loaf-sized cake instead. Turns out even a loaf-sized cake is a lot of cake for two of us, especially considering I am not a huge dessert eater.

I have to admit though, I am mighty proud of my accomplishment ^_^

The cake recipe I used was Nigella Lawson’s dense chocolate loaf cake from How to be a Domestic Goddess and I made just a few modifications to the recipe — I replaced 1/3 cup of flour with cocoa powder and used 4oz of melted chocolate chips for the bittersweet chocolate originally stated in the recipe.

Other than that, for the filling, instead of using a can of cherry pie filling, I used a jar of German black cherry jam and lots of whipped cream. Once I got my layers in place, I spread whipped cream all over the cake and decorated the top with maraschino cherries that I made sure to dry off as best as I could so the juices wouldn’t bleed all over my pristinely white cake. Next time I must remember to buy a chocolate bar to make chocolate shavings to properly decorate my cake.

Nigella’s Dense Chocolate Loaf Cake

1 cup butter
1 2/3 cup dark brown sugar
2 eggs, beaten
1 tsp vanilla extract
4 oz chocolate chips, melted
1 tsp baking soda
1 cup flour
1/3 cup cocoa
1 cup boiling water

Preheat oven to 375F
Line the biggest loaf tin you own with a piece of dampened parchment paper.
Mix the flour, cocoa and baking soda.
Cream butter and sugar then add the eggs and vanilla extract, beating in well.
Fold in the melted and slightly cooled chocolate, taking care to blend well but not to overbeat.
Add the flour mixture, stir a few times, then add the boiling water until you have a smooth and fairly liquid batter.
Pour into the loaf tin and bake for 30 minutes.
Turn the oven down to 325F and continue to cook for another 15 minutes.
The cake will still be a bit squidgy inside when tested.
Place the loaf tin on a rack and leave to cool completely before turning out.

Leave a Reply

