First ever Chinese New Year’s Dindin… with dragon dumplings!

Happy Chinese New Year!

This is my first ever attempt at cooking a traditional Chinese New Year’s dindin. I have to admit, I am rather impressed and super pleased at the results. It is almost perfect.

I’ve never done it before, I’ve never thought to do it before and up until now, I’ve never even considered that I could accomplish something as awesome as Chinese New Year.

Let’s face it, Mom is the Master of Chinese New Year’s dindin, there’s no two ways about it. The idea of me doing it, on my own even, has always been a rather terrifying idea.

Yet, here it is. My first ever Chinese New Year’s dindin. I am super duper proud and I don’t think there’s really too much more I can say about it. Tonight I’m just going to post the pictures of dindin and include the recipe for the steamed dumplings that I made which I found off youtube, surprisingly. Tomorrow, I will write up the recipes for the long life noodles, the mushrooms and the steamed fish because they all need to be recorded someplace where I will be able to find them again for future reference… and perhaps one day, as Dad said wistfully, Baby Bro & Older Bro may want the recipes to make our traditional family Chinese dindin themselves.

Happy Year of the Dragon!

My First Chinese New Year Dindin

Steamed Year of the Dragon Dumplings

Long Life Noodles

Long Life Noodles served in lettuce cups

Good Luck New Year’s Poached Cornish Hen — hainanese chicken-style

Steamed Pacific Cod with garlic, ginger, soysauce, sesame oil & slivered green onions

Chinese Mushrooms stirfried in schmaltz

Steamed Year of the Dragon Dumplings
adapted slightly from FeastofFiction on Youtube

9 shrimp, peeled, deveined & chopped
3 stalks of green onion, chopped
1″ slice of ginger, minced
1 1/2 cup celery,blanched & puréed
1 lb ground pork
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 Tbsp soy sauce
1 cup bamboo shoots
1 Tbsp Oyster sauce
2 tsp salt
1 pkg wonton skins

– Put ground pork, veggie oil, soy sauce, oyster sauce, and salt in a large bowl.
– In food processor, mince green onions, bamboo shoots and ginger then add to pork mixture.
– Mince the shrimp and add to pork mixture.
– Squeeze out the liquid from the blanched celery into the ground pork mixture.
– Mix thoroughly, add in the squeezed celery and continue to mix until everything is well blended.
– Place a spoonful of pork dumpling mixture onto wonton skin and fold as desired.

To cook dumplings, you have several options:
– Bring a large pot of water to the boil and add dumplings without overcrowding the pan. They will be ready when they float to the top.
– Steam dumplings on a lettuce lined plate for 15-20 minutes.
– Oil a large frying pan that has a tight fitting lid over medium high heat, arrange dumplings, fill halfway up the dumplings with water and cover. Bring to a boil and let the water evaporate but keep an eye on the dumplings! You want to make sure to let the bottoms go crispy and golden brown but not burnt.

Serve hot with dipping sauce.

Leave a Reply

