More recipes, more chocolate cake.

A couple weeks ago, for D&D night, I made a chocolate cake.

My original intention was actually to make banana cakie, at The Hubbs’ request, but somehow or other I stumbled upon a recipe for Chocolate Banana Buttermilk Cake in the free Spring 2012 Inspired magazine from Sobeys that gets sent to me in the mail every few months. I can’t remember how I went from intending to bring a banana cake for D&D, to making it into a chocolate-banana cake instead, but it was a brilliant decision.

Unrelated side note: I discovered that they have an app which you can download the magazine straight to your iPad. The only disappointment to the app I’ve discovered is that you can’t save/bookmark any of the recipes should you want to keep them. On the other hand, it appears that you can create a recipe box account on the Sobeys website… it’s just not ~my~ favourite means of keeping recipes and I would much prefer the ability to like I said, bookmark the recipe in the app.

This cake, was amazing.

Side rant: I don’t like adding chocolate to recipes just because it wasn’t a chocolate cake to begin with. If I am going to make a chocolate cake, I am going to make a chocolate cake. If I make a cake with chocolate in it, I want the chocolate to be a major component to the recipe. Tossing in a handful chocolate chips just to call it a ‘________-chocolate cake’ does not make for a tasty cake, in my opinion. I hate it when recipes add chocolate chips willy-nilly just to make it more appealing and supposedly tastier. I am quite happy NOT eating chocolate. In fact, I will go so far as to say I actually prefer cakes which do not have chocolate in them at all.

Chocolate does not always make everything better… same thing goes with bacon. There, I said it!

Now, back to my cake.

First off: a note about my accidental screw up. When I’ve made a mistake in the past it’s been pretty major, in my opinion, and yet somehow my screw ups don’t usually render the recipe into completely inedible garbage-fodder… at least it hasn’t yet. *knock on wood*

The description of the cake given in the magazine is, “This is big. Really big. We pared down the fat and calories while keeping all the chocolatey charm. (220 calories per slice!) So go on – ready your forks and spoons (or fingers) and enjoy!”

Long story short: I was multi-tasking. I was talking on the phone while I was getting my ingredients all lined up and ready to go so I could just dump everything into my mixer as it was running… all while Moosed up. While I was talking, I was thinking to myself that I much prefer using butter in my cakes than oil, so I melted down half a cup of butter and set it aside to cool while I prepared the remaining ingredients.

Now imagine this scene being played out: Everything’s going fine and dandy, you’re following the instructions, following the instructions and then you turn to face the stove to see if the oven has preheated and you see the cooled melted butter sitting on the stove. Think that you’ve forgotten to add the oil to the cake batter, so you go ahead and pour in the melted butter. It’s slightly out of sequence from the instructions, but oh well, at least you’re adding it, right? You mix well, and then you stop. You remember that you already added the oil at the beginning of the recipe and suddenly realize that you’ve now doubled the fat component to your recipe for some inexplicable reason. You do deer in headlights and panic for a moment. You breathe again, cross your fingers and continue on as if nothing has gone wrong.

Let’s just say that the description of the cake above, from the magazine, is no longer applicable if you choose to follow my screwed up version of the recipe that I am going to present to you below. Like, not even close ¬_¬;;

Quickly, a couple of the changes I made to the recipe: swapped lemon yoghurt for buttermilk, omitted the glaze since the cake is more than rich enough as is, accidentally doubled the fat content because I was totally not paying attention to what I was doing and then totally forgot what I had already added to the mixing bowl. Ya. Rly. Just so you know, this cake is rather awesome with those changes ^_^

Interesting discovery of note: If you freeze bananas because they get way too ripe before you could eat them, make sure to freeze them in a ziplock baggie so that when you thaw them, they don’t goo everywhere. Believe me when I say these things are SLIMY when they thaw out! It’s really rather gross. You don’t even really need to peel it once it’s thawed, just cut the tip off one end and squeeze the banana out like a tube of toothpaste… *shudder*

Ridiculously Rich Chocolate-Banana Cake

2 1/2 cups flour
1/2 cup cocoa
1 1/2 tsp baking soda

1 1/2 cups lemon yoghurt (I LOVE Liberté brand)
1/2 cup oil
1/2 cup butter, melted
2 cups brown sugar
3 eggs

1 Tbsp vanilla

3 large ripe bananas, thawed if frozen
2 tsp lemon juice
1/2 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375°F
Grease and flour a bundt pan and set aside.
Mix together flour, cocoa & baking soda in medium bowl and set aside.
In bowl of stand mixer beat together oil, butter and brown sugar until light and fluffy.
Add eggs, one at a time, then vanilla.
Add lemon juice, then one slimy banana at a time… watching with horror as it comes sliding out of its skin with a *splort!*
Mix well between each banana until batter becomes smooth.
Blend in half the flour mixture and half the yoghurt, then remaining flour and yoghurt.
Stir in the chocolate chips then pour batter into prepared pan.
Bake about 50-55 mins or until skewer comes out clean when tested.
Cool in pan before turning out onto plate.

Yay! You just made a chocolate-banana cake that tastes pretty darned swell ^_^

Leave a Reply

