WE HAVE LIFE!!!

I admit, it’s kind of a stinky life, but it’s still life ^_^

Cross your fingers our pet sourdough starter, Charlesford, will thrive, become something spectacularly tasty, and most of all: hope I don’t accidentally kill it. Cuz we all know how many times I have tried and failed to grow a sourdough starter from scratch.

I am pretty pleased that Charlesford actually grew. My first attempt last year at sourdough failed pretty miserably and I was so sad & disappointed. I don’t even know why I’ve been so keen on trying to make a starter from scratch since I didn’t exactly grow up with eating sourdough breads at all. The notion that you can make something from scratch — and I mean *scratch scratch*, just makes me so excited for some reason.

It’s just so cool. It’s just so cool, especially considering that I was seriously debating on whether or not to fork over 8(!!) bucks for a supposedly famous, well-established, dried sourdough starter from Alaska’s Klondike days when we were on vacation.

I’m hoping that maybe in a few more days time, I might be able to start using the starter properly instead of discarding stuff everytime you feed it. It always seems like such a shameful waste to be throwing out something like half your starter everyday. I can’t imagine how people could justify it in the “olden days” if they had to make a starter from scratch.. but then again, they probably didn’t have to worry about these things since they knew HOW to do these things properly, unlike myself.

ANYWHO.

The “recipe”, or method, that I used this time around was submitted by SourdoLady from a website called The Fresh Loaf: Wild Yeast Sourdough Starter. So now, Charlesford sits contently in a 1.5L mason jar, breathing & bubbling away as he should, until I figure out what to do with him. The Hubbs is a huge fan of sourdough breads and it would be nice if I could find a good recipe to show off Charlesford’s tang and abilities. I just hope that he doesn’t get out of hand, size-wise, if I don’t end up baking with him at least once or twice a week. I know you can feed them and put them in the back of your fridge to go into hibernation and will easily recover after a couple days of fresh food and a warm place to wake up.

In other news — I started up the Aero Garden again with a few different herbs. I find it most disappointing that I still can’t seem to grow herbs indoors or out, without the aid of the Aero. It’s just such a shame that we have no windows with adequate sunlight in the house and I’m having to resort to this method of growing things. I suppose it’s better than not having any chance of growing stuff myself, so I guess it’s not so bad.

It’s been less than five days and already three of the pods are sprouting: thyme, basil & savoury. The garlic chives, parsley, & oregano haven’t shown any signs of life still… although, no, wait.. I think the oregano ~might~ be showing something, but it’s hard to tell. There’s just the smallest green dot in the bottom of the pod that I can see. I do hope they grow. In fact, I am actually considering doing the something Empyress mentioned she was going to do with her current Aero Garden herbs which are nice and lush.

Since her herb garden’s full grown and we are, for the most part, safely into spring on our way to summer, she’s going to transplant everything into pots and disconnect the Aero for the rest of the season so they can continue grow larger, outdoors, without restriction. Once summer’s over and the days become shorter and the evenings a lot cooler, she will start up the Aero again so she can continue to have fresh herbs.

I don’t think I will wait until my herbs are full grown and established before putting them into pots, but hopefully starting everything in the Aero will help give them a bit of a boost & head start, as opposed to planting everything straight from seed. CPerhaps what I might also do is once the first batch of herbs have gone out, I’ll plant more seeds into Aero pods and start some other stuff which might do better indoors — like maybe the Medusa Peppers I grew last summer or some cilantro? Fresh cilantro in the house would be wonderful.

Cross your fingers for me and let’s hope that we have an amazing summer filled with backyard honey from the Ladies, a wonderful bounty of fresh herbs and a great experience with our first time with Noble Farm’s CSA veggies! ^_^

Leave a Reply

