Fish Pie! Sorta..

I am feeling incredibly rough around the edges still — so exhausted, so drained, just so tired. I don’t know if it’s because of last night’s sleep study that made me feel so beaten but it just seems like I can’t kick this since we got back from our trip.

This afternoon I went to do my chest X-Ray that Fam Doc ordered — though highly unlikely, the worry is that with my complaints of chest pain and difficulties breathing lately, I might have a case of "invisible pneumonia". He’s not thinking that it’s what I’m suffering from, but it can’t hurt just to check. He also did a throat swab because The Hubbs’ been sick for two weeks and my throat’s been kina meh and my nose has been spewing all sorts of nasties. He doesn’t ever want to be lazy with me and he’s quite happy to bombard me with all sorts of tests just to make sure we don’t ever miss something.

After I did the X-Ray, I decided to make a trip to the North Sea Fish Market so I could pick up some stuff for dindin. I was watching SORTED videos and decided that Fish Pie just sounded like a good idea. I have a few different versions of fish pie that I’ve perused, mostly from Jamie Oliver & Nigella, and I’ve always been curious as to how it would taste since it seems like such a strange concept to mix fish with a cream sauce and top everything with lots of mashed potatoes like you would for a shepherd’s pie. Jamie’s Happiest Fish Pie has always been a recipe that I’ve wanted to try making, but Nigella’s Nursery Fish Pie is a pretty enticing, too.

The biggest thing with fish pies is that there’s just so much work to make one, it seems! You have to boil potatoes to make a mash, you need to make a bechamel sauce, blah blah blah… Which I guess is why I was rather attracted to SORTED’s version of fish pie.

I’ve been watching their videos for over a year now and I am really impressed by the stuff these boys can churn out. Their whole goal is to making meals fun, easy, affordable and tasty. Their format is especially geared for the young adult-uni student crowd who tends to live off takeout and crummy ichiban noodles. The videos & recipes are easy, affordable, and absolutely polished from start to finish — and the boys are all super cute with British accents, to boot! Gotta like that, right? ;)

I admit, I didn’t have all the ingredients on-hand, so I doctored the recipe somewhat with Jamie’s version, Happiest Fish Pie, and it came out pretty darned tasty! The only thing I am disappointed about is that I should have considered making some garlic bread to go with it because there wasn’t much in terms of starch/carbs in this recipe compared to the others, where mashed potato’s on top. I should also mention that I’ve just had a bowl, leftover, for latenight snack and I added to it macaroni and extra cheese. Verdict: Very awesome and to be honest, probably tastier than the original…. but then again, I guess I’ve just turned my fish pie into an upscale tuna mac with the addition of the noodles, eh?

Fish Pie

1 onion, chopped
2 rashers bacon, chopped
knob of butter
2 cloves garlic, chopped
1 Tbsp flour, heaped
1 – 1 1/2 cups milk
1 small fillet of cod, cut into large chunks
1 small fillet sole, cut into large chunks
1 small fillet of salmon, cut into large chunks
smoked paprika, salt & pepper, to taste
handful of Ritz crackers, crushed
chunk of parmesan cheese, grated

Preheat oven to 400°F
Mix half the grated parmesan with the crushed crackers and set aside.
In large frying pan over medium heat, fry bacon for a few minutes until some of the fat renders out, but isn’t crisp or completely cooked.
Add onions to the pan and cook until soft, letting everything get sticky on the bottom of the pan, but not burning.
Add garlic & cook until fragrant.
Add just a few small splashes of water to help deglaze the pan, then add butter, stirring well until melted.
Sprinkle bacon-onion mixture with flour, stirring until well combined. Cook until flour is slightly golden brown.
Add milk about 1/2 cup at a time, stirring well until smooth, letting sauce come to a bubble.
Add a generous pinch of smoked paprika and season well with salt & pepper to taste.
Add the fish pieces, stirring well to coat, along with the parmesan cheese, and let mixture bubble for a minute or two.
Pour the whole mixture into a small casserole dish, sprinkle with the crushed crackers & parmesan mixture on top.
Bake in oven for 10 minutes until the crumbs turn golden and the fish sauce is bubbling.

Leave a Reply

