Sourdough Rye Experiment

The Hubbs really likes a good rye bread.

I’ve never made rye bread. Ever.

I am quite impressed that once I took Charlesford out of the fridge for an hour or so while I went grocery shopping, I came home and found him to be supremely bubbly & happy! He hadn’t even been fed yet and he was excited and rearing to go!

Last night I had sitting in a warm place, the beginnings of my very first sourdough rye dough. I found some awesome Youtube videos about The Baker’s Percentage and how to go about using it when making bread and it makes so much sense!

Having said that, the recipe that I am currently test-driving for my first sourdough rye gives measurements for both volume & weight. I haven’t changed up too much of the recipe thusfar other than I’ve cut the recipe down by half and omitted the caraway seeds. The only reason I’m omitting the caraway this time around is because I want a seedless loaf to eat at a later date.

I am thinking that Empyress was correct in her assumption that I am very likely to become VERY obsessed with bread-making, even if I didn’t want to be. I have all sorts of fantastic ideas running through my head as usual and not enough time, people or stomach space to accommodate for all this bread.

The original recipe is from the Sourdough Home website and the recipe is referred to as a Bohemian Rye Bread.

Charlesford Rye a.k.a. Sourdough Rye Bread

205g Sourdough starter
230g water
230g flour
205g rye flour
21.5g salt
18.5g softened butter

In a large bowl dissolve the sourdough starter in water then add remaining ingredients.
Stir until the mixture is too thick to be comfortable, it’ll be shaggy.
Cover with a towel & leave to rest for ~15 minutes somewhere warm-ish.
Knead for a few minutes or so, until the bread just comes together.
Form the dough into a ball, oil your bowl & the dough ball lightly then cover and leave somewhere out of the way for ~18hours
Once the dough has risen, turn out of the bowl and with wet hands, gently degas & shape into a nice ball.
Let rest on a floured surface, making sure to lightly flour the top, then cover again to rise for 2 hours.
After 1 1/2 hours rising time, preheat oven with a small, cast iron dutch oven with lid, inside to 475F for 30 minutes.
When ready to bake, slash top of bread a couple of times with a sharp knife.
VERY carefully remove pot & lid from oven, sprinkle cornmeal on bottom of pot, place dough inside and quickly replace the lid.
Reduce heat to 450F and bake bread for 30 minutes with lid.
Remove lid from pot, reduce heat to 400F and bake bread for another 15 minutes or until crust is golden brown.
Transfer bread to wire rack and let cool for at least 1 hour. DO NOT EAT!!
Once cooled, slather with butter and enjoy your new loaf of bread.

Leave a Reply

