Pork Cutlet Sammich

I made this sammich somewhere around the middle to end of last week when I was feeling better and craving “real food”.

By real, I am referring to something that isn’t in a mostly liquid form used to help replenish electrolytes and is easy on the tummy to digest. After awhile, consuming nothing but Gatorade, Coconut Water, salted crackers (occassionally toast) and bowlfuls of joak gets kind of depressing.

As much as I like joak, when you’re sick & seriously unwell, you just wanna be able to chew and have something with flavour.

Enter pork cutlet, stage left.

I was spending most of my days either bed or sofa-bound with two heating pads (one on my tummy and one under my back for my kidneys) and more often than not my iPad with digital magazines & Youtube videos to occupy my time.

I discovered that Martha Stewart Everyday Food has a Youtube channel that shows quick meals once a week. The videos are at most five or so minutes long and they’re pretty quick recipes. One of them was this pork cutlet sammich. Yea, while I was down & out with food poisoning and my insides were feeling still rather touchy at best, I made myself a pork sammich. It was really, really, really good. OH. MY. GAWD. GOOD.

The recipe is actually not all that different from fave pork katsu & risotto recipe that I make for The Hubbs. In fact, the only difference is that there’s no thyme or sage in the breading. To take it totally over the top, I used a thin, toasted slice of Charlesford, my homemade picante sauce from last summer and melted mozzarella. Admittedly, the sammich could have used the requisite greens to freshen it up just a smidge, but otherwise, it’s a damn good & satisfying sammich.

Not only that, but I swear, it took me less than 20 minutes, start to finish to make these sammiches, and that was with me feeling less than stellar. There’s not all that much more I can say about it other than: Make it.

Pork Cutlet Sammich

1/4 cup flour
1 egg, lightly beaten
1/2 cup panko
salt & pepper
4 pork cutlets
olive oil
shredded mozzarella
bread of your choice
1 cup picante sauce
arugula (optional)

Place flour, egg, and breadcrumbs in separate shallow dishes.
Season flour and breadcrumbs with salt and pepper.
Coat pork in flour, shaking off excess, dip in egg, then coat with breadcrumbs, pressing to adhere.
Set pork aside.
Heat broiler.
In a large skillet, heat oil over medium-high.
Cook pork until deep golden brown, about 3 minutes, flipping halfway through.
Line rack with paper towels.
Transfer pork to towels and let drain 1 minute.
Top pork with cheese, place on sheet, and broil until cheese is melted, 1 minute.
Divide among bread and top with picante sauce and arugula, if using.

Leave a Reply

