Magic CSA Veggies Week #5!!

image

Today’s CSA Veggies was rather mind boggling: Parsley! Baby Beets! Yellow Swiss Chard! Red Potatoes! Kale! Radishes! Onions! Purple Spring Onions! Yellow Zucchini!

I am loving the incredible colour variety that we’re getting from all the veggies — you just don’t get this kind of thing from the regular grocery store! The first time we got the purple spring onions I was absolutely thrilled!

The yellow swiss chard also makes me incredibly giddy every time Tim drops it into my bag for some reason  and today’s the first time I’ve received a yellow zucchini, pictured at the bottom. It would be absolutely amazing if we ever got both red and yellow swiss chard in the same veggie delivery, but I know that would be WAY too much for us — last week, sadly, I had to admit defeat & give Mom my two weeks-worth of accumulated kale because there was just way too much for us to eat as it was with the other stuff received. I am hoping that this week I will have better planning skills.

Having said that, I am loving that we get both kale and swiss chard every week and absolutely thankful that we are done with the lettuces. As much as I enjoy salads, for some reason I find lettuce to be the most difficult veggie to love and eat consistently. My Friday Summer Salads with Miss R is about the most I can handle and usually we can polish off a head within a day or two following our Friday baby day. But last week’s head was ridiculous! I made summer salad for 3 people and last night I made Ceasar salads for The Hubbs & I from scratch and I STILL had at least two portions of lettuce remaining!

Most people by this point are saying, “NO MORE KALE!!” But I am not one of those people. I am definitely screaming, “NO MORE LETTUCE!!” and thankfully because we only have a 1/2 share in the CSA, this week we got to bypass the lettuces.

Magic CSA Veggie plans for the week? Chimichurri sauce, baby!!

I haven’t made fresh chimichurri in so long and it will be very exciting to have it again on Friday for dindin along with some crispy pork chops, more than likely my favourite swiss chard that’s been gently boiled, then drained & lightly seasoned with salt & pepper, then dressed with olive oil, lemon & garlic and to round out the meal I’ll have a go at some boiled new potatoes tossed with butter and some of the parsley.

I think that sounds like a pretty darn fine Friday night dinner to kick off the long weekend, no?

Chimichurri Sauce of Luv

1/3 cup finely chopped garlic
1/2 bunch fresh flat-leaf parsley
2 tsp dried oregano
1 tsp paprika
1 tsp ground cumin
1 Tbsp olive oil
2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
1 tsp Tabasco Sauce
salt & pepper, to taste

Combine all ingredients in a blender, add 1/2 cup water and blend well until mixed thoroughly.

Add Tabasco, salt & pepper, to taste.

Refrigerate until ready to serve.

5 thoughts on “Magic CSA Veggies Week #5!!

    1. I ~LOVE~ chimichurri sauce! I swear, it must be a creation of the Veggie Gods ^_^
      It’s absolutely amazing on grilled steaks, which is my number one suggestion that you eat it with! Secondly is broiled/grilled shrimp, they’re amazing with that too. As a third and final option? Slathered on really, really good crusty bread ^_^

Leave a Reply

