Banana Fritters

In honour of Doughnut Day, yesterday, I made something resembling homemade doughnuts for the first time ever! The rest of the world I suppose refers to these as “fritters” but I’ve never really understood what the difference is between the two.

The recipe is easy, easy, easy, but I did have a bit of an issue with undercooking the larger doughnuts, never having made deep fried sweets before.

I had made two different sizes because I wasn’t quite sure which would be a better size for eating. Turns out the larger ones were the perfect snack size but the minis were the ones that cooked through in the amount of time I had left them in the hot oil.

I think the biggest problem I had with frying the regular sized doughnuts was that the bananas were so ripe and full of sugars, that they coloured within 90-120seconds and I had to pull them out of the oil or they would burn. The minis, on the other hand, were the perfect size to cook right through such that they had turned a nice darker brown. The thing is, I really didn’t want to be standing in front of a hot pot of boiling oil forever dropping little itty bitty scoops of banana batter, hence why I had chosen to use the larger, yet still decently snack-sized scoop.

To fix my issue of uncooked centres (undiscovered until my parents had each taken a bit out of their first pieces), I popped the cooled doughnuts into a 350F oven for about 10 minutes or so, testing with a toothpick to ensure they were no longer gooey in the middle. This was actually a great idea because not only did it finish cooking the insides, but it also reheated the doughnuts to piping hot without drying them out, which was actually my biggest worry when I discovered the error of my ways.

Banana Fritters

1 cup flour

2 tablespoons sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

Pinch of salt

1 teaspoon ground nutmeg

2 eggs

2 very ripe bananas

1 tablespoon vanilla

Oil, for deep frying

Heat your deep fryer to 365°.

Whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and nutmeg in a large bowl.

Whisk the eggs, bananas and vanilla together in a separate bowl.

Pour the wet into the dry and stir gently until just mixed.

Drop heaping tablespoons of the batter into the hot oil and fry until golden brown.

They will float to the surface when they are done.

Flip them so they fry evenly.

Drain on paper towels until ready to serve. **

** You may at this point want to double check to see if your doughnuts are cooked through by splitting one in half just to make sure.

If it turns out they are still raw in the middle, chuck them all into a 350F oven for ~10minutes and check again by stabbing with a toothpick & seeing that it comes out clean.**

Leave a Reply

