My Teas Arrived!!!

It seems like ages ago that I ordered teas from Adagio. Probably sheer bad luck on my part that I ordered stuff just as the east coast was being hammered by a huge snowstorm, wreaking all sorts of havoc on transportation and shipping routes.

Anyhow, a long time ago (in a galaxy far, far, away…) I ordered a bunch of free tea samplers from Adagio. We’re talking almost 10(!) years ago. Back at Christmas, my parents received some tea from Older Bro, and Baby Bro’s fiance was also given tea. Since everyone in my family seems to have a hard-on for Teavana, I decided to check them out.

Conveniently, it was the Boxing Day/Week period for shopping, and I flitted about online to see what was on offer. I picked up one chai blend (which I am rather wishy-washy about, at the moment) and a brand new cast iron tea pot. I’ve been seriously coveting a cast iron teapot for ages and the one I ended up with happened to be 50% off, so it was kind of a done deal at that point ;)

Fast forward a bit, and I was flitting around online again for more options for tea and at that point re-discovered Adagio… and their FANDOM BLENDS! *SQUEE!*

12662654_10156420560340654_1829799121283500530_n

Honestly? I think Adagio is rather brilliant to come up with a concept that involves tea lovers, fandoms and in the case of the tea blends I purchased: Fandom Artwork!

All the teas I purchased happen to be their more popular blends from the Fandom line, created by artist Cara McGee. I really like her drawing style, and currently am enjoying her tea blending skills; something I can’t imagine is an easy skill to acquire.

Here’s the list of teas I ended up getting from both the BBC Sherlock Sampler, as well as the three extra blends I chose, just because.

Sherlock Sampler

Sherlock: blended with assam melody, lapsang souchong, black tea, natural spice flavour, cinnamon bark, orange peels, ginger root, cloves, cardamom. Teas: lapsang souchong, assam melody, oriental spice. (See below for my thoughts on this blend!)

Lestrade: blended with gunpowder, pu erh dante, black tea, natural hazelnut flavour. Teas: gunpowder, pu erh dante, hazelnut

Mrs. Hudson: blended with assam melody, black tea, natural almond flavour. Teas: assam melody, almond

John Watson: blended with assam melody tea, ceylon sonata tea, green tea, black tea, cinnamon bark, natural cinnamon flavour, orange peels, natural bergamot flavour, blue cornflowers. Teas: irish breakfast, cinnamon, earl grey green

Molly Hooper: blended with chamomile, snowbud, rose hips, hibiscus, apple pieces, natural wild cherry flavour, dried cherries. Teas: chamomile, dewy cherry, snowbud

Mycroft: blended with black tea, rooibos tea, cinnamon bark, ginger root, cloves, orange peels, cardamom, natural chocolate flavour, dark chocolate chips, cocoa nibs, natural vanilla flavour, natural creme flavour. Teas: chocolate chip, rooibos vanilla chai, cream.
 
Extra Tea Blends

Moriarty: blended with black tea, ginger root, cloves, cardamom, natural ginger flavour, natural cinnamon flavour, cinnamon bark. Teas: ginger, masala chai

The Woman: blended with honeybush tea, lapsang souchong, rose hips, hibiscus, natural vanilla flavour, apple pieces, natural wild cherry flavour, dried cherries. Teas: honeybush vanilla, dewy cherry, lapsang souchong

Doctor Who Tardis: blended with black tea, orange peels, natural bergamot flavour, blue cornflowers, natural blackberry flavour, natural vanilla flavour, blackberry leaves. Teas: earl grey bravo, blackberry, vanilla.

My thoughts on Sherlock, the tea.

Honestly, when you first smell the tea: it’s smoky as fuck.
When I was discussing the characteristics of Sherlock with a friend, she noted, “I have to admit that smoky isn’t a descriptor I am attracted to in my tea.” — and neither am I. If you’ve never smelled lapsang souchong, it‘s really shocking at first. It totally reminds me of campfire, but it’s almost too smoky at first — like forest fire smoke.
The thing is, once you get past the smoky, and the tea gets brewed to the proper strength, when you drink it (I highly recommend milk and a bit of sugar by the way), you get only a nice subtle smoke flavour; like the more cozy feeling of campfire I mentioned, again. With the addition of milk and a touch of sugar, there’s a really nice smoothness that balances everything out.
Now, possibly because I tend to use less tea leaves than most people recommend using, I could only just barely taste the orange peel and the spices. I found they were both only subtle at best. I don’t know how I would feel if the spices were more noticeable, but I have a feeling it would taste too much like a chai at that point versus a really intriguing cup of smoky tea that totally brings to mind memories of old & stuffy Chinese junk shops, or the house of elderly relatives…

Be warned: the smoky becomes a lot more prominent & noticeable when your cup of tea gets cold!
5 thoughts on “My Teas Arrived!!!

  1. I had never heard of that brand of tea, but I’m definitely going to check them out now. The Doctor Who tea sounds like it would taste kind of like the way I make London fogs, so I’m really interested in it. Thanks for posting about it!

    1. Hi! This is the first time I’ve actually purchased any teas from Adagio and I have to say that so far, I am highly impressed by their Fandom Blends. Kudos absolutely go to Cara McGee’s creativity!

      I am really looking forward to trying all the other blends, but Mycroft I think will be my next sampler to try and I may even write another review. ;)

      The only thing that I an disappointed about in hindsight, is not realizing how badly the exchange rate for the Canadian$ is right now compared to the US$.

      It hurt. A lot.

      Luckily I managed to get free shipping (I sure as heck spent enough!) but that was only by chance that Adagio had a free shippimg promo to begin with. If you’re an American customer, you will definitely have less pain than I did when looking at my receipt and then doing the currency conversion!

    1. @Chloe & @Electric Ambivert:

      OH. MY. GOOD. NESS.

      !!!!!!

      I opened up the Tardis Blend this morning and it smells amazing! I absolutely am a lover of Earl Grey tea, and this is blend is quite a bit different than your traditional cuppa, but certainly not in a bad way! I’ll post a review of it shortly, but just so you know: It’s a sweet tea. When I opened the bag and took a big deep whiff, it smelled exactly like Maynard’s Blackberry Wine Gums with a hint of bergamot from the earl grey! I am absolutely loving it! You both have to try this one :D

Leave a Reply

