Adagio Tea’s Watson Fandom Blend (review)

Holy cow!
I’m totally drinking Watson, black!
If you like drinking your teas black, the Watson blend is a really nice cup of tea to drink on its own without any extra adornments. 
John Watson: blended with assam melody tea, ceylon sonata tea, green tea, black tea, cinnamon bark, natural cinnamon flavour, orange peels, natural bergamot flavour, blue cornflowers. Teas: irish breakfast, cinnamon, earl grey green.

img_5253

 I’m not usually a black tea drinker. Unless it comes in the form of traditional Chinese tea or Japanese green tea; I will always add milk at the very least because that’s the way I grew up drinking Red Rose tea that my parents made as their daily brew.
Watson smells nice and cinnamon-y which totally brings me back and reminds me of when I was first introduced to herbal teas in junior high.
It used to be that I had to ditch my French class for a one-on-one tutoring session and the teacher’s aid I was assigned to, used to offer me the option of having a cup of herbal tea while she was teaching me and I was studying. The first time I was ever offered a herbal tea, a few startling realizations came into being:
1) This was definitely not Chinese tea.
2) There were so many flavours!
3) Each flavour of tea was wrapped individually in its own little packet.
4) Adding sugar(!) to my tea was a practice that others were encouraged to partake in & didn’t find abhorrent!
Needless to say, my undeveloped & inexperienced junior high tea-drinking years were an enlightening and eye-opening experience that certainly made the whole period of time, together with the teacher’s aid, more pleasant for learning and less of an ‘I am being punished’ struggle.
But back to Watson…
On the whole, Watson actually reminds me a lot of how Red Rose’s Orange Pekoe tastes; a pleasant blend that’s not overwhelming, not at all overpowering, and is certainly an enjoyable tea, as is. Watson also happens to be enjoyable with milk, and if you like to add sugar, it’s also lovely if you’re into that sort of thing.
Basically, what I think I’m trying to say is: If you’re looking for a well-rounded blend that is lovely in all manners of tea-drinking; black, with or without milk, with or without sugar, then Watson’s your guy… Errr, blend.
7 thoughts on “Adagio Tea’s Watson Fandom Blend (review)

  1. Hey, great post!
    I’ve yet to come across this blend on the adagio site, although all the others I have tried of theirs are pretty great so I might have to get some.
    I’ve been tasting and reviewing teas for my blog, http://teaandthat.com and I must say black tea, especially Assam, is usually my favourite.
    I look forward to reading more!

    1. Hi Rory!
      Thanks for the comment and welcome to my blog! I am honoured that you’ve taken the time to pop in to say hi ^_^

      The tea reviewing is a totally new thing for me right now, but I am hoping to make it a semi-regular feature over time, along with the stuff I usually think to write about; like recipes, CSA musings, my health & the goings-on with SALLY, etc.

      So far, I am pretty darned chuffed with Adagio’s tea offerings snd even more blown away by the creativity of Cara McGee, the artist & tea blend creator of these particular Sherlock & Doctor Who fandom blends :D

      -Jennifer

      1. No problem, it’s nice to see how other bloggers go about their reviewing!
        I’ve just noticed the other tea reviews on your blog so I’ll have a read on my lunch break. They look so cool!
        I’ll be sure to check out your other articles too.
        Rory

    1. @Chloe

      Hello, again! ^_^

      I have to admit, there are very few teas that I enjoy drinking black; Chinese & Japanese teas are the only ones that immediately come to mind, which is why Watson was such a pleasant surprise!

      I rarely find “Western teas” to be palatable when drunk black, so Watson was immensely enjoyable on “his”/its own.

      I hope you have the opportunity to try some of the Adagio Fandom blends one day! If you’re interested, I have free $5 “gift certificates” available that I would be more than happy to share which I can post it via email, pinterest, and even twitter, apparently. ^_^

Leave a Reply

