Adagio Tea’s Mrs.Hudson Fandom Blend (review)

 So. Mrs.Hudson…

I have to admit, I’m kind of disappointed. 

On the whole, the blend is perfectly fine as an everyday tea, but if you were hoping for an enjoyable almondy or marzipan-y tasting tea-experience, it’s disappointing that I can’t taste or smell any presence of almond.

Mrs.Hudson: blended with assam melody, black tea, natural almond flavor. Teas: assam melody, almond.

  

It’s a pleasant enough tea to be drinking black, and I find it is very reminiscent of Chinese tea; more of a “regular” or plain tea that you’d expect to be drinking at a Chinese restaurant that isn’t your usual jasmine.

I would be content enough to drink it black, as is, but I also found it was nice with milk.

I was really hoping that adding a bit of sugar would help to bring out the missing almond flavour; but sadly, there wasn’t much difference since I couldn’t smell anything remotely almond flavoured at any point of the brewing process.

In the end, it’s a perfectly drinkable & enjoyable tea, but it didn’t wow me in its current state. Since the tea came to me as a part of the fandom blend, would I go out of my way to purchase Mrs.Hudson as a loose tea? Overall I feel rather “meh” about it, so the answer is: Probably not. 

Just for fun, and curiousity’s sake, I thought it might be an interesting experiment to see what would happen if I added 1-2 drops of almond extract right into my milky tea. 

The logic and my thought process of adding the almond extract was to see how the tea would (or wouldn’t!) improve if I could increase the almond flavour to make it noticeable, but not overwhelming (or screaming-in-your-face). I figured it would be nice to be able to better gauge what the tea was supposed to taste like when it ACTUALLY tasted of almond, like the tea suggests, rather than trying to guess its intentions.

Results of my experiment? Absolutely, positively, amazing. If Mrs.Hudson tasted like what is currently in my cup, I would be immensely pleased about buying this blend on its own; but seeing as how it does need the extra boost, if you happen to purchase the Sherlock Sampler Set yourself, try Mrs.Hudson as you normally would, then try it with the tiniest bit of almond extract. Bliss.

Leave a Reply

