Homemade tapioca pudding

Part 1 of Rituxan infuson treatment was on Monday. The only thing I could stomach eating was tapioca pudding and interestingly, somehow I got it into my head that I was going to make from scratch tapioca pudding  because Minute Tapioca that I normally make just wasn’t working for me texturally — it tends to be pretty bouncy & jello-like, and I was hoping homemade tapioca pudding would be more of a soft custard texture.

Thankfully, my first attempt at making homemade tapioca was a success considering I was worried that I screwed up because my soaked tapioca kind of ended up disintegrated after the overnight soak.

Preparaing for my days of nausea, I tripled the recipe written below and I’m pretty pleased with how it turned out. ^_^

  
Tapioca Custard

1/3 cup medium pearl tapioca

3/4 cup cold water

1 1/2 cup milk

2 eggs, lightly beaten

1/3 cup sugar

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp vanilla

Soak tapioca in water 6 hours or overnight in a covered container.

Add milk & cook in covered double boiler over simmering water until tapioca is clear & tender 2.5-3hrs), stirring occassionally.

Beat eggs with sugar & salt. 

Temper eggs with hot milk, then add to the hot tapioca, stirring well to blend.

Continue cooking until thickened, stirring constantly, about 15 minutes.

Remove from heat & stir in vanilla.

Serve warm or cold.

Serves 4.

Leave a Reply

