Guess what I made!

It’s that time of year again: Chicken Milk Season!

As I mentioned earlier, this year was really difficult, especially in the cooking & eating department as it’s most likely due to SALLY & Co. We’ve had a CSA membership with Noble Gardens for a few years now and I’ve been having the hardest time trying to cook all the dozens of eggs we’ve got stored in the fridge because I go through waves of “can eat vs. can’t eat.”

Yesterday I had 3 dozen eggs in the fridge and I was trying to come up with the best ideas to use the most number of eggs in a single go. There were a few ideas that I had been batting around in my head: quiche lorrainepot de crème, magic chocolate flan cake, etc…

And then I realised that I could make eggnog! The eggnog that TheHubbs™ had been buying makes my tummy so very, very, owie.

Side note: I am lactose intolerant but, strangely, I can drink organic milk. A few years ago, we discovered ordering milk through Spud that my tummy has no issues with organic milk… Well, most “organic” milks. Stranger still: the big commercial dairy producers (Dairyland, Parmalat, Beatrice, Lucerne, etc) in Alberta that sell an organic-label is hit or miss for me, but the strictly organic dairy producers like Rock Ridge, Vital Greens, Avalon, etc give me ZERO tummy issues! It’s kind of a baffling concept as I’m pretty sure lactose intolerance doesn’t distinguish between “organic” and non-organic labelling.

I honestly did not realise how much of a difference homemade eggnog is from the commercially made stuff. This recipe for chicken milk is so awesome… it kind of tastes like melted vanilla ice cream with the minor adjustment to the spices that I made. I will probably have to try the original recipe as is, one day, but with Dad not being terribly keen on the strong flavour of cinnamon, I reduced it by one stick for my first go ’round.

Sidenote: I think I may need to explain the reason for referring to eggnog as chicken milk ^_^; In Canada, everything is bilingual, food labels are no exception. I have a thing for hilariously incorrect translations:

1) Eggnog in (Canadian?) French: Lait de Poule

2) Lait de Poule directly translated into English (but grammatically incorrect): Milk of Chicken

3) Milk of chicken corrected for “proper” English grammar: 🐔 🍼 ! 😸

If you have a sousvide setup, this recipe is super easy, but does take an hour to cook after the few minutes it takes to mix together. If you’re using ziplock bags instead of the thicker bags used for vacuum sealing, I would highly recommend double bagging the mixture just for added protection since it does cook at a higher temperature.

The Most Amazing Eggnog (recipe adapted slightly from Confectionalism.com)

4 egg yolks, fresh
8 eggs, fresh
4 cups whole milk
2 cups heavy cream
1 Tbsp vanilla paste
1½ cups icing sugar
pinch of salt
2 cinnamon sticks
6 whole cloves
½ tsp freshly grated nutmeg (plus extra to serve)
Optional: whip cream, to serve

Preheat the Sous Vide to 60°C.
In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the eggs until they are thick and pale yellow.

Add the milk, cream, sugar, salt and ½ teaspoon of freshly grated nutmeg and beat well.

Into the bottom of a large vacuum sealing bag or ziplock (gallon size) add the vanilla bean paste, cinnamon sticks and cloves. Add the eggnog base and press out as much air as possible from the pouch, and close.

Note: If you’re  using a ziplock bag, double bag and seal for extra security from potential bag leakage.

If using heavy duty vacuum bags, gently submerge bag until all the air is pushed out and clip to side of sousvide bath with binder clips. (If you’re super lucky to own a chamber vac, then just seal bag and drop into your bath!)

Drop the eggnog into bath and cook for 1 hour. Squish & mix the eggnog pouch about every 15 minutes.

Remove eggnog from the sousvide bath and immediately submerge the still sealed eggnog in an ice water bath until contents are chilled through.

After chilling, strain out the cloves and cinnamon and pour eggnog into a large 2L jar, making sure not to forget the vanilla beans at the bottom of the bag! Refrigerate until completely chilled.

When ready to serve: top glass of eggnog with whipped cream and grate a bit of fresh nutmeg for garnish, if desired.

For added fun, make a Paralyzed Chicken: half fill a tall glass with coke, add rum (if desired) and top with your chicken milk. 😛

Leave a Reply

